Gold Cup: Newcomers Bermuda and Guyana qualify for expanded tournament

Bermuda and Guyana will play in the Gold Cup for the first time after finishing in the top 10 in the 34-team Concacaf Nations League qualifying and joining six teams that received byes into the 2019 tournament.

Bermuda beat the Dominican Republic, 3-1, after trailing on Enmy Pena's goal in the third minute. Charleston Battery midfielder Zeiko Lewis, QPR's Nahki Wells and Justin Donawa, who attended Dartmouth, scored for Bermuda. The Dominican Republic would have qualified if it won, and both teams would have been eliminated if they tied.

Emery Welshman, whom MLS's FC Cincinnati loaned to Forge FC of the new Canadian Premier League, scored to give Guyana a 2-1 win over Belize in another winner-take-all match.

Nicaragua was the final team to qualify, beating Barbados, 1-0, on a goal by Juan Barrera in the 65th minute. It edged out tiny Montserrat (population: 5,000), which won three of its four games but was edged out on goal difference.

Haiti, Canada, Martinique, Curacao, Cuba, Jamaica and El Salvador also qualified. They will join Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago and the United States in the Gold Cup, which was expanded from 12 to 16 teams.

The majority of the Gold Cup will take place in the United States. Costa Rica and an as-yet-undecided-Caribbean country will each host a doubleheader in the group stage.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications