Australia's 'special group' brings plenty of Women's World Cup experience to France

Twelve NWSL players, headed by two-time scoring leader Sam Kerr, form the nucleus of Australia's 23-player team for the Women's World Cup.

"This is a special group of Australian footballers," Coach Ante Milicic said. "because, as a unit, they have accumulated a wealth of international experience despite the average age of the team being quite young."

Lydia Williams, Clare Polkinghorne and Lisa de Vanna are headed to the World Cup for a fourth time, while Kerr, 25, is one of six players who are going to their third World Cup.

The U.S.-based corps also includes UCLA keeper Teagan Micah. The youngest player is 16-year-old forward Mary Fowler.

Australia Rosters:
Goalkeepers: Lydia Williams (Seattle Reign), Teagan Micah (UCLA), Mackenzie Arnold Mackenzie Arnold (Brisbane Roar).
Defenders: Gema Simon (Newcastle Jets), Clare Polkinghorne (Houston Dash), Laura Alleway (Melbourne Victory), Steph Catley (Seattle Reign), Alanna Kennedy (Orlando Pride), Ellie Carpenter (Portland Thorns), Teigen Allen (Melbourne Victory).
Midfielders: Katrina Gorry (Brisbane Roar), Amy Harrison (Washington Spirit), Aivi Luik (Levante/ESP),  Chloe Logarzo (Washington Spirit), Elise Kellond-Knight (Seattle Reign), Emily van Egmond (Orlando Pride), Tameka Yallop (Klepp/NOR),
Forwards: Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars), Caitlin Foord (Portland Thorns), Lisa de Vanna (Sydney FC), Emily Gielnik (Melbourne Victory), Hayley Raso (Portland Thorns), Mary Fowler (Bankstown City).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications