Watch: Highlights of the USA's previous four Women's World Cup finals

The eighth Women's World Cup final on Sunday will mark the USA's fifth appearance in the championship game, and a chance for the USA to win its fourth title.

1991: USA 2, Norway 1

Norway won the 1995 World Cup with a 2-0 win over Germany as the USA finished third. The USA returned to the final in 1999 and beat China in a shootout after a scoreless tie. 1999: USA 0, China 0 (USA wins, 5-4, on PKs)

Germany won the 2003 World Cup while the USA finished third. Germany repeated in 2007 and the USA finished third again. The USA returned to the final in 2011.
2011: Japan 2, USA 2. (Japan wins, 3-2, on PKs).

2015: USA 5, Japan 2

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications