Tony Quinn receives the 2019 Colin Jose Media Award

Soccer photographer Tony Quinn, who worked many years for Soccer America covering local, national and international events, has been named recipient of the 2019 Colin Jose Media Award.

Quinn, a native of England, will be honored at the 2019 National Soccer Hall of Fame induction ceremonies on Sept. 21 at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas. They will also feature the induction of National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2019 members Sunil Gulati, the former U.S. Soccer president, and Abby Wambach, international soccer's all-time leading scorer.

"I was flabbergasted and over the moon, two nice British expressions," said Quinn of his selection. "And I've never been flabbergasted and over the moon at the same time before. I've been doing it so long, I just didn't think it was that long and that I've been involved for all those years."

Quinn had moved to the Virginia-D.C. area in 1962, and covered local soccer for many years, going back to the days of the Washington Diplomats in the old NASL. He was inducted into the Virginia-D.C. Soccer Hall of Fame in 2016.

He also covered politics and civil strife in South and Central America as a staff photographer for El Diario Latino in Washington, D.C., winning best photographer for the National Association of Hispanic Newspapers in 1994.

Quinn has covered four World Cups, three Olympic Games, two Copa Americas, as well as countless MLS Cups, College Cups and Gold Cups.

"It's just wonderful," Quinn said of being part of the induction ceremony with Gulati and Wambach. "To be in the same group as Sunil. He and I spent a lot of time together; and Abby Wambach, I was there when she was drafted into the WUSA."

Quinn is the 12th recipient of the Colin Jose award and third member of the Soccer America family to receive the media award. The late Clay Berling, the Soccer America founder and publisher, was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a builder in 1995.

Colin Jose Media Award Recipients
2019 - Tony Quinn, Photojournalist
2018 - JP Dellacamera, Fox and other television broadcasters
2017 - Jim Trecker, Media Relations
2016 - Paul Kennedy, Soccer America
2013 - George Vecsey, New York Times
2012 - Grahame Jones, Los Angeles
2010 - Paul Gardner, Soccer America
2009 - Alex Yannis, New York Times
2008 - Ike Kuhns, Newark Star-Ledger
2007 - George Tiedemann, Sports Illustrated/Freelance Photography
2005 - Seamus Malin, ESPN and other television broadcasters
2004 - Jerry Trecker, Hartford Courant

1 comment about "Tony Quinn receives the 2019 Colin Jose Media Award".
  1. Nicole Gara, September 6, 2019 at 2:52 p.m.

    Tony is a fantastic photographer.  This award is well-deserved.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications