MLS: Top three scorers are MVP finalists

Carlos Vela (record 34 goals), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (30) and 2018 winner Josef Martinez (27), the highest-scoring trio in MLS history, are the three finalists for the 2019 Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player award.

Here are the short lists for all the awards ...

MVP: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (LA Galaxy), Josef Martinez (Atlanta United) Carlos Vela (LAFC).
Defender of the Year: Ike Opara (Minn. United) Miles Robinson (Atlanta United) Walker Zimmerman (LAFC).
Goalkeeper of the Year: Bill Hamid (D.C. United) Sean Johnson (NYCFC) Vito Mannone (Minn. United).
Newcomer of the Year: Carles Gil (New England), Heber (NYCFC), Alejandro Pozuelo (Toronto FC).
Rookie of the Year: Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia), Hassani Dotson (Minn. United), Andre Shinyashiki (Colorado).
Coach of the Year: Bob Bradley (LAFC), Jim Curtin (Philadelphia), Domenec Torrent (NYCFC).

Comeback Player of the Year: Mark-Anthony Kaye (LAFC), Jordan Morris (Seattle), Kacper Przybylko (Philadelphia).
Humanitarian of the Year: Tim Howard (Colorado), Matt Lampson (LA Galaxy), Luis Robles (NY Red Bulls).
Referee of the Year: Allen Chapman, Jair Marrufo, Rubiel Vazquez.
Assistant Referee of the Year: Logan Brown, Brian Dunn, Brian Poeschel.

Note: Polling is done in three groups: (1) current MLS players, (2) club technical staffs and (3) select group of media members.


Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications