Vito Mannone wins MLS Goalkeeper of the Year award in tight race

Minnesota United's Vito Mannone won the 2019 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year award in one of the tightest votes in the history of MLS awards.

The 31-year-old Italian edged D.C. United's Bill Hamid with only 17.67 percent of the vote by player, club coaches and technical staffs and media.

Mannone is only the second European to win the Goalkeeper of the Year award after Dane Jimmy Nielsen, who won the award with Sporting Kansas City in 2012.

Goalkeeper of the Year voting:
Vito Mannone (MIN) 17.67%
Bill Hamid (DC) 13.33%
Sean Johnson (NYC) 10.98%
Brad Guzan (ATL) 9.72%
Matt Turner (NE) 8.22%

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications