MLS Expansion Draft: Clubs announce players made available for selection

MLS clubs announced the players who will be available for selection on Tuesday when Inter Miami and Nashville SC take part in the Expansion Draft.

MLS Expansion Draft: 2019 draft rules

They can select up to five players each from the eligible player pool. Only a single player can be drafted from any one club. Five teams are exempt from the Expansion Draft: D.C. United, the New York Red Bulls, FC Dallas, Houston and Vancouver. They all had players picked by FC Cincinnati in last year's Expansion Draft.

Each team was allowed to exempt 11 players, in addition to Generation adidas players who did not graduate at the end of the 2019 season and Homegrown Players 25 and under. Players in the latter two categories are automatically exempted.

Players eligible for selection include three players who started in MLS Cup 2019 -- Roman Torres for Seattle and Tsubasa Endoh and Justin Morrow for Toronto FC -- and Spaniard Victor Rodriguez, who came off the bench and scored for the Sounders in their 3-1 win.

Steven Beitashour, Jordan Harvey and Tyler Miller, starters for Supporters' Shield winner LAFC most of the season, were also made available.

Atlanta United
Mikey Ambrose
Jon Gallagher
Jose Hernandez
Alec Kann
Kevin Kratz
Jeff Larentowicz
Justin Meram
Brendan Moore
Luiz Fernando
Michael Parkhurst
Dion Pereira
Florentin Pogba
Brek Shea
Brandon Vazquez
Chicago Fire
Diego Campos
Stefan Cleveland
Elliot Collier
Nicolas Gaitan
Cristian Martinez
Amando Moreno
Nemanja Nikolic
David Ousted
Richard Sanchez
Bastian Schweinsteiger

Colorado Rapids
Tim Howard (retiring)
Niki Jackson
Kofi Opare
Abdul Rwatubyaye
Axel Sjoberg
Danny Wilson

Columbus Crew
Luis Argudo
Ricardo Clark
Waylon Francis
David Guzman
Federico Higuain
Hector Jimenez
Jon Kempin
Ben Lundgaard
Connor Maloney
Youness Mokhtar
Edward Opoku
Eduardo Sosa
Josh Williams
Romario Williams

FC Cincinnati
Fanendo Adi
Nazmi Albadawi
Corben Bone
Hassan Ndam
Logan Gdula
Jimmy Hague
Justin Hoyte
Roland Lamah
Forrest Lasso
Emmanuel Ledesma
Ben Lundt
Kekuta Manneh
Darren Mattocks
Jimmy McLaughlin
Alvas Powell
Caleb Stanko
Przemyslaw Tyton

Lamar Batista
Steven Beitashour
Danilo Silva
Phillip Ejimadu
Mohamed El-Munir
Alejandro Guido
Jordan Harvey
Dejan Jakovic
Tyler Miller
Lee Nguyen
Adrien Perez
Javier Perez
Josh Perez
Peter-Lee Vassell
Rodolfo Zelaya

LA Galaxy
Favio Alvarez
Uriel Antuna
Servando Carrasco
Emil Cuello
Tomas Hilliard-Arce
Zlatan Ibrahimovic
Perry Kitchen
Matt Lampson
Joao Pedro
Chris Pontius
Jorgen Skjelvik
Diedie Traore 

Minnesota United
Abu Danladi
Ethan Finlay
Marlon Hairston
Miguel Ibarra
Brent Kallman
Carter Manley
Wilfried Moimbe-Tahrat
Ally Ng'anzi
Lawrence Olum
Wyatt Omsberg
Angelo Rodriguez
Rasmus Schuller
Bobby Shuttleworth

Montreal Impact
Zachary Brault-Guillard
Omar Browne
Evan Bush
Rudy Camacho
Jorge Corrales
Rod Fanni
Anthony Jackson-Hamel
Ken Krolicki
Bacary Sagna
Amar Sejdic
Maximiliano Urruti
Jeisson Vargas

New England Revolution
Juan Agudelo
Jalil Anibaba
Juan Caicedo
Edgar Castillo
Cody Cropper
Brad Knighton
Michael Mancienne
Brian Wright

New York City FC
Luis Barraza
Daniel Bedoya
Jeff Caldwell
Sebastien Ibeagha
Gary Mackay-Steven
Jesus Medina
Eric Miller
Abdi Mohamed
Ebenezer Ofori
Tony Rocha
Brad Stuver
Ben Sweat
Juan Pablo Torres

Orlando City
Carlos Ascues
Alex De John
Adam Grinwis
Cristian Higuita
Will Johnson
Sacha Kljestan
Shane O'Neill
Dillon Powers
Greg Ranjitsingh
Brian Rowe
Lamine Sane
Kyle Smith

Philadelphia Union
RJ Allen
Joe Bendik
Aurelien Collin
Warren Creavalle
Marco Fabian
Olivier Mbaizo
Haris Medunjanin
Michee Ngalina

Portland Timbers
Dairon Asprilla
Jeff Attinella
Tomas Conechny
Claude Dielna
Andres Flores
Aljaz Ivacic
Modou Jadama
Kendall McIntosh
Andy Polo
Zarek Valentin
Renzo Zambrano

Real Salt Lake
Tony Beltran (retiring)
Alex Horwath
Luke Mulholland
Joao Plata
Justin Portillo
Nick Rimando (retiring)
Kelyn Rowe
Pablo Ruiz

San Jose Earthquakes
Francois Affolter
Matt Bersano
Eric Calvillo
Harold Cummings
Luis Felipe
Carlos Fierro
Marcos Lopez
Paul Marie
Jimmy Ockford
Kevin Partida
Andrew Tarbell

Seattle Sounders
Saad Abdul-Salaam
Will Bruin
Jonathan Campbell
Emanuel Cecchini
Justin Dhillon
Chad Marshall (retiring)
Bryan Meredith
Victor Rodriguez
Alex Roldan
Harry Shipp
Luis Silva
Roman Torres

Sporting KC
Botond Barath
Eric Dick
Benny Feilhaber
Andreu Fontas
Nicolas Hasler
Jimmy Medranda
Krisztian Nemeth
Seth Sinovic
Rodney Wallace
Gedion Zelalem

Toronto FC
Jon Bakero
Nicolas Benezet
Laurent Ciman
Tsubasa Endoh
Drew Moor
Ashtone Morgan
Justin Morrow
Patrick Mullins
Caleb Patterson-Sewell
Ryan Telfer
Eriq Zavaleta

3 comments about "MLS Expansion Draft: Clubs announce players made available for selection".
  1. R2 Dad, November 18, 2019 at 10:41 a.m.

    I don't believe this Expansion Draft concept exists outside of the US. I think it's unfair to veterans who would otherwise have a say in where/who buys their contracts and the cities they get to live in. I'll bet in most cases the new clubs don't really want to sign these veterans, either. Why must this be a thing? This just seems like a process for existing teams to dump their expensive contracts  onto their opponents.

  2. Seth Vieux replied, November 18, 2019 at 4:42 p.m.

    Agreed for the most part, but don't think the expansion clubs have to take anyone they don't want to?

  3. R2 Dad replied, November 19, 2019 at 11:24 a.m.

    I don't know how these negotiations work from the inside, so I am just speculating. But wouldn't it unsettle your club's dressing room to  announce that 2/3rds of the roster is free to go, outside clubs can pick over the bones and random players are pulled out? It seems that for a league that relies on lots of running, that MLS would try to do everything possible to create a stable environment where team chemistry can be maximized, team style of play not disrupted?  This is the watering-down-of-quality process in action.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications