Concacaf Nations League: What it all means

Tuesday marks the end of the group phase of the new Concacaf Nations League.

Concacaf's goal was to keep smaller Caribbean national teams, who comprise the majority of the Concacaf membership, active in between competitions.

In that regard, the competition has been successful as all 41 national teams competed in 12 groups spread over three leagues. Following a rash of blowouts during qualifying, there were rumors that some teams wanted to drop out, but the Concacaf Nations League group stage went off with just one forfeit.

A 3-0 victory was awarded to French Guiana when Belize experienced transportation issues that prevented the Jaguars from traveling to the French department on the top of South America.

The results of Concacaf Nations League group phase spill over into placing teams into three competitions:

-- The four League A group winners will meet in the 2020 Concacaf Nations League semifinals and final in June 2020. (The USA will beat out Canada with a win over Cuba on Tuesday.)

-- The League A group winners and runners-up (8 teams) and League B winners (4 teams) will qualify for the 2021 Gold Cup. They will be joined by winners (4 teams) from two rounds of playoffs: League C winners vs. League B runners-up and then the Group A third-place teams vs. the first-round winners.

-- The last-place teams in the four League A and League B groups will be relegated and the winners of the four League B and League C groups will be promoted for the next Concacaf Nations League, likely to be played in 2022-23. The changes for League A in which the USA plays are that Grenada, El Salvador, Jamaica and St. Vincent & Grenadines or Suriname will go up, and Cuba, Panama or Bermuda (likely Bermuda), Trinidad & Tobago and Haiti will go down.

2020 Concacaf Nations League Semifinals:

USA or Canada
Costa Rica

2021 Gold Cup entrants:

League A winner and runner-up:
Panama or Bermuda
Costa Rica

League B winner:
El Salvador

2021 Gold Cup playoff teams:

First Round (League C winner vs. League B runner-up):
League C winner:
Cayman Islands or Barbados
League B runner-up:
French Guiana
Dominican Republic
St. Vincent & Grenadines

Second Round (First-round winner vs. League A third-place team):
League A third-place team:
Panama or Bermuda
Trinidad & Tobago
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications