MLS 2020: Daniel Lovitz goes to expansion Nashville SC

Nashville SC was a busy team on Tuesday, picking five players in the MLS Expansion Draft and turning around and trading two of them -- Zarek Valentin and Brandon Vazquez -- as part of four separate trades.

The biggest trade sent defender Daniel Lovitz from Montreal Impact to Nashville shortly before he started for the USA in its 4-0 win over Cuba in the Concacaf Champions League.

Tuesday's Moves.
Expansion Draft:

1. FW Abu Danladi (Minnesota United).
2. DF Zarek Valentin (Portland Timbers).
3. DF Jalil Anibaba (New England Revolution).
4. FW Brandon Vazquez (Atlanta United)
5. DF Jimmy Medranda (Sporting Kansas City)
1. Acquired DF Daniel Lovitz (Montreal Impact) for $50,000 in 2020 GAM, $50,000 in 2020 TAM and 2020 international roster spot.
2. Acquired GK Joe Willis (Houston Dynamo) for DF Zarek Valentin.
3. Acquired GK Adrian Zendejas (Sporting KC) for $125,000 in 2020 TAM, $50,000 in 2020 GAM and 2020 international roster spot.
4. Acquired $150,000 in 2020 TAM from FC Cincinnati for FW Brandon Vazquez.

The move to trade Lovitz, who spent the last three seasons in Montreal and started 28 games in 2019, came a day after Thierry Henry was introduced to the Montreal media as the Impact's new head coach. The deal was also the first under new Belgian sporting director Olivier Renard, who said the deal will give the Impact "more flexibility" for 2020.

Among those Nashville had announce its Expansion Draft selections were Titans running back Derrick Henry and Boston Red Sox right fielder Mookie Betts, a Nashville native,

Who's out ...
DF Zarek Valentin (Houston Dynamo),  FW Brandon Vazquez (FC Cincinnati).

2020 MLS Roster:
Goalkeepers (2): Joe Willis (Houston Dynamo), Adrian Zendejas (Sporting KC)
Defenders (4): Dave Romney (LA Galaxy), Daniel Lovitz (Montreal Impact), DF Jimmy Medranda (Sporting KC), Jalil Anibaba (New England Revolution)
Midfielders (6) : David Accam (Columbus Crew), Anibal Godoy (San Jose Earthquakes), Derrick Jones (Nashville SC/USL), Randall Leal (Saprissa/CRC), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Hany Mukhtar (Brondby/DEN).
Forwards (3): Abu Danladi (Minnesota United), Cameron Lancaster (Nashville SC/USL), Daniel Rios (Nashville SC/USL).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications