MLS joins forces with Liga MX on All-Star Game

In 2018, MLS introduced the Campeones Cup, putting the MLS and Liga MX winners against each other.

In 2019, MLS started the Leagues Cup, a cup competition for MLS and Liga MX teams  eight to 16 teams in 2020.

In 2020 will come the obvious next step, one suggested for years.

The 2020 MLS All-Star Game at LAFC's Banc of California Stadium will feature the MLS all-stars against Liga MX all-stars, making it the first time all-star teams from two different leagues will play in MLS's mid-season match.

“There’s nothing negative here," said MLS commissioner Don Garber at Wednesday's announcement. "Nobody has anything to lose. We all win here.”

The 2020 MLS All-Star Game will break a string of 15 straight matches pitting the MLS all-stars against European clubs.

The lure of viewers on Spanish-language Univision is a big draw for MLS. The 2017 MLS All-Star Game involving Real Madrid drew a record 2.1 million viewers across the USA and Canada. The largest share was the 1,484,000 viewers on Univision/UDN.

The 2019 MLS All-Star Game involving Atletico Madrid drew more than three times the viewers on UniMas and Univision Deportes than FS1.

The big surprise for both MLS and ESPN officials in the viewership for the 2019 MLS playoffs, now a single-game knockout competition, was the audience for the two LAFC matches involving Carlos Vela on ESPN Deportes.

MLS All-Star Games:
1996: East 3, West 2 (E. Rutherford, N.J.)
1997: East 5, West 4 (E. Rutherford, N.J.)
1998: MLS USA 6, MLS World 1 (Orlando)
1999: West 6, East 4 (San Diego)
2000: East 9, West 4 (Columbus)
2001: East 6, West 6 (San Jose)
2002: MLS 3, U.S. National Team 2 (Washington, D.C.)
2003: MLS 3, Guadalajara 1 (Carson, Calif.)
2004: East 3, West 2 (Washington, D.C.)
2005: MLS 4, Fulham FC 1 (Columbus)
2006: MLS 1, Chelsea FC 0 (Bridgeview, Ill.)
2007: MLS 2, Celtic FC 0 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2008: MLS 3, West Ham United 2 (Toronto)
2009: MLS 1, Everton 1 (Everton 4-3 pen) (Sandy, Utah)
2010: Manchester United 5, MLS 2 (Houston)
2011: Manchester United 4, MLS 0 (Harrison, N.J.)
2012: MLS 3, Chelsea 2 (Chester, Pa.)
2013: Roma 3, MLS 1 (Kansas City)
2014: MLS 2, Bayern Munich 1 (Portland)
2015: MLS 2, Tottenham 1 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2016: Arsenal 2, MLS 1 (San Jose)
2017: Real Madrid 1, MLS 1 (Real Madrid 4-2 pen) (Chicago)
2018: Juventus 1, MLS 1 (Juventus 5-4 pen) (Atlanta)
2019: Atletico Madrid 3, MLS 0 (Orlando)

1 comment about "MLS joins forces with Liga MX on All-Star Game".
  1. R2 Dad, November 21, 2019 at 10:52 a.m.

    This is a great idea--hilarious if Don Garber is actually defensive about it. How do you make it better still? Bundesliga referees with their VAR process.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications