Nominees announced for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards

U.S. Soccer's nominees for its 2019 Female Player of the Year awards feature six players who played on the 2019 Women's World Cup championship team:  midfielders Julie Ertz, Rose Lavelle and Carli Lloyd, forwards Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe and goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher.

The finalists for U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year include six players who represented to the USA on its 2019 Gold Cup runner-up team: defenders Aaron Long and Tim Ream, midfielders Weston McKennie and Christian Pulisic, and forwards Jordan Morris and Gyasi Zardes.

Three of the female nominees have won the award: Morgan (2012 and 2018), Lloyd (2015) and Ertz (2017). On the men's side, Pulisic (2017) is the only former winner.

Votes for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards are collected from respective national team coaches, national team players who have earned a cap in 2019, members of U.S. Soccer's board of directors and Athletes' Council, MLS and USL head coaches (USMNT) and NWSL head coaches and select college coaches (USWNT), plus select media members and former players and administrators.

6 comments about "Nominees announced for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards".
  1. Nick Gabris, November 27, 2019 at 11:34 a.m.

    G. Zardes ? You have got to be kidding!!


  2. beautiful game replied, November 27, 2019 at 5:39 p.m.

    Zardes? That tells a tall-tale about the MLS selection process.  

  3. Wilson Taguinod replied, November 27, 2019 at 8:18 p.m.

    Keep in mind who made the nominations.  It wasn't the federation, it was a group of current and past national team members, coaches, journalists, et al.  There are some people who value his contribution to the Nats despite his inability to dribble, his lack of first touch, and whatever sins we can conceive of.

    To me, the real crime is not having Crystal Dunn on this list.  The had the tournament of her life this summer and has done very will in the NWSL.  I think she is more deserving than Morgan and Naeher.

  4. uffe gustafsson, November 27, 2019 at 1:58 p.m.

    How about Christine Press?

  5. Bob Ashpole replied, November 27, 2019 at 11 p.m.

    Clearly on the women's side, there were many deserving players and only six spots.

    Clearly on the men's side, there was significantly less to be excited about. The few US players that were ranked among the best in MLS were not included. There were no US MLS standouts in the forward and midfield lines. Not a good sign. 

  6. Kerry Solomon, November 27, 2019 at 10:22 p.m.

    Zardes - no way should he be on the list.
    Rapinoe- player of the year- YES. Crystal Dunn honorable mention

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications