NCAA Division III Men: Tufts repeats as champion

Tufts won its second straight NCAA Division III men's championship, third in the last four years and fourth in the last six years with a 2-0 victory over New England Small College Athletic Conference rival Amherst.

Senior Gavin Tasker, the Most Outstanding Offensive Player for the semifinals and final, scored in the 25th minute to give Tufts a 1-0 lead. Junior Max Jacobs added an insurance tally in the 74th minute.

-- The Jumbos are just the third program in NCAA Division III history to win four or more national championships. Messiah has won 11 titles, while UNC Greensboro, now a Division I program, won five.

-- Tufts finished the 2019 season with a 20-2-2 record, two more victories than any team in program history.

Amherst 3 Centre 0
Tufts 4 Calvin 0

Calvin 3 Luther 0
Amherst 3 RPI 1
Centre 2 Montclair State 1
Tufts 3 Connecticut College 1
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications