Record field enters 2020 U.S. Open Cup

A modern-era record 100 clubs will participate in the 2020 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup.

The field for the competition's 107th edition was set following the Dec. 31 professional team confirmation deadline. Here's how the teams will enter the competition.

First Round (March 24-25).
Number of Games: 19
Participants: 38.

Local Qualifiers (12):
East Region: Christos FC (Md.), New York Pancyprian Freedoms (N.Y.), Vereinigung Erzgebirge (Pa.), Virginia United* (Va.); Central Region: Louisiana Krewe FC (La.), Miami United FC U23 (Fla.), Nashville United (Tenn.), NTX Rayados* (Texas); West Region: Cal FC* (Calif.), Chula Vista FC (Calif.), FC Boulder Harpos (Colo.), Olympic Club (Calif.)

USASA National Amateur Cup champion (1):
Newtown Pride FC (Conn.)

NPSL (14):
Northeast Region (3): Atlantic City FC, West Chester United SC, FC Motown*; South Region (4): Tulsa Athletic, Naples United FC, Denton Diablos FC, Fort Worth Vaqueros FC; Midwest Region (3): Cleveland SC, Minneapolis City SC, Med City FC; West Region (4): ASC San Diego, FC Arizona, FC Davis, Crossfire Redmond

USL League Two (11):
Division winners: Chicago FC United, Des Moines Menace*, FC Golden State Force*, North Carolina Fusion U23, South Georgia Tormenta FC 2*, The Villages SC*, Western Mass Pioneers. Wild-card entries (in rank order): GPS Portland Phoenix, SC United Bantams, Ventura County Fusion, Corpus Christi FC
* Participated in 2019 Open Cup

Second Round (April 7-9).
Number of Games: 29
Participants: 58 (19 first-round winners, 25 Division II clubs, 14 Division III teams)

USL Championship (25, excludes teams majority-owned or otherwise controlled by a higher division professional club:
Austin Bold FC, Birmingham Legion FC, Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC, El Paso Locomotive FC, FC Tulsa, Hartford Athletic, Indy Eleven, Las Vegas Lights FC, Louisville City FC, Memphis 901 FC, Miami FC, New Mexico United, North Carolina FC, OKC Energy FC, Orange County SC, Phoenix Rising FC, Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC, Reno 1868 FC, Sacramento Republic FC, Saint Louis FC, San Antonio FC, San Diego Loyal SC, Tampa Bay Rowdies

USL League One (6, excludes teams majority-owned or otherwise controlled by a higher division professional club):
Chattanooga Red Wolves SC, Forward Madison FC, Greenville Triumph SC, Richmond Kickers, South Georgia Tormenta FC, Union Omaha

NISA (8):
California United Strikers FC, Chattanooga FC, Detroit City FC, LA Force, Michigan Stars FC, Oakland Roots, San Diego 1904 FC, Stumptown Athletic

Third Round (April 21-23)
Number of Games: 20
Participants: 40 (29 second-round winners, 11 Division I teams)

MLS (11):
Chicago Fire FC, Colorado Rapids, Columbus Crew SC, FC Cincinnati, FC Dallas, Houston Dynamo, Inter Miami CF, Nashville SC, Orlando City SC, San Jose Earthquakes, Sporting Kansas City.
Note: The four U.S. entrants to the 2020 Concacaf Champions League and the next four best American regular-season finishers in 2019 in each of the league's Eastern and Western Conferences were granted the extra bye.

Round of 32 (May 19-20).
Number of Games: 16
Participants: 32 (20 second-round winners, 12 Division I teams)

MLS (12):
Atlanta United FC (defending champion), D.C. United, Los Angeles FC, LA Galaxy, Minnesota United FC, New England Revolution, New York City FC, New York Red Bulls, Philadelphia Union, Portland Timbers, Real Salt Lake, Seattle Sounders FC.

Remaining Schedule.
June 10 Possible Round of 16
June 23-24 Round of 16 or Quarterfinals
July 14-15 Quarterfinals or Semifinals
Aug. 11-12 Semifinals or Final
Sept. 22-24 Possible Final
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications