U.S. under-16 girls: San Jose Earthquakes send five players to Florida camp

The U.S. under-16 girls national team will hold its first camp of the year Jan. 24-29 at the Premier Sports Campus in Lakewood Ranch, Florida.

Katie Schoepfer, who played in the WPS and NWSL, will lead the camp and has called up 26 players born in 2004 and two born in 2005. Former national team goalkeeper Nicole Barnhart, who earned 54 caps for the USA between 2004-2013, will be an assistant coach at the camp.

The squad includes five players from the San Jose Earthquakes, who won the the 2019 U.S. Soccer Development Academy U-15 championship

Five players on the roster helped lead the San Jose Earthquakes to the U.S. Soccer Development Academy U-15 Championship last season. They include Yuna McCormack, who won the Golden Ball as the best player in the DA postseason. McCormack is also one of 11 players helped the USA win the 2019 Concacaf Girls U-15 Championship.

U.S. U-16 Roster:
GOALKEEPERS (4): Mackenzie Gress (STA DA; Lyndhurst, N.J.), Claire Heddings (Cedar Stars Academy-Monmouth; New York, N.Y.), Nona Reason (San Diego Surf; San Clemente, Calif.), Teagan Wy (OC Surf; Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.).
DEFENDERS (9): Taylor Bloom (Beach FC; Huntington Beach, Calif.), Sydney Cheesman (Colorado Rush; Lafayette, Colo.), Tessa Dellarose (Pittsburgh Riverhounds; Grindstone, Pa.), Elise Evans (San Jose Earthquakes; Redwood City, Calif.), Kayleigh Herr (NC Courage; Cary, N.C.), Kathryn Kelly (San Jose Earthquakes; Belmont, Calif.), Evelyn Shores (Tophat; Atlanta, Ga.), Maggie Taitano (San Diego Surf; Carlsbad, Calif.), Gisele Thompson (Real So Cal; Studio City, Calif.).
MIDFIELDERS (8): Sydney Becerra (Solar SC; Lewisville, Texas), Maggie Cagle (Phoenix Rising; Phoenix, Ariz.), Sofia Cook (LA Galaxy; Huntington Beach, Calif.), Jill Flammia (Richmond United; Manakin-Sabot, Va.), Jennie Immethun (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Ally Lemos (Legends FC; Glendora, Calif.), Peyton Marcisz (San Jose Earthquakes; San Mateo, Calif.) Yuna McCormack (San Jose Earthquakes; Mill Valley, Calif.).
FORWARDS (7): Tyler Isgrig (Solar SC; Arlington, Texas), Lumi Kostmayer (Sky Blue-NYSC; Southbury, Conn.), Mia Minestrella (Beach FC; Redondo Beach, Calif.), Allison Montoya (MVLA; Los Altos, Calif.), Katherine Rader (Weston FC; Stuart, Fla.), Cate Shepherd (Baltimore Armour; Baldwin, Md.), Ava Uribe (Reign Academy; Sammamish, Wash.).
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications