Datebook: U.S. Open Cup (First Round)

The pairings have been set for the 19 games in the first round of the 2020 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup.

The games will be played March 24-25 and involve 38 amateur teams from the Open Division: 13 local qualifiers, 14 NPSL clubs and 11 USL League Two teams.

Five matches are between teams from the same qualifying pool to avoid extensive travel at this stage of the competition.

Northeast Region
March 24 in Ludlow, Mass.
Western Mass Pioneers (USLL2) vs. GPS Portland Phoenix (USLL2), 7 p.m. ET
March 24 in West Chester, Pa.
West Chester United SC (NPSL) vs. Vereinigung Erzgebirge (Pa.), 7 p.m. ET
March 24 in Woodbridge, Va.
Virginia United FC (Va.) vs. Christos FC (Md.), 7:30 p.m. ET
March 25 in Montclair, N.J.
FC Motown (NPSL) vs. New York Pancyprian Freedoms (N.Y.), 7 p.m. ET
March 25 in Glassboro, N.J.
Atlantic City FC (NPSL) vs. Newtown Pride FC (Conn.), 7 p.m. ET

Southeast Region
March 24 in Greensboro, N.C.
North Carolina Fusion U23 (USLL2) vs. South Carolina United Bantams (USLL2), 7 p.m. ET
March 25 in Summerfield, Fla.
The Villages SC (USLL2) vs. South Georgia Tormenta FC 2 (USLL2), 4 p.m. ET
March 25 in Hialeah, Fla.
Miami United FC U23 (Fla.) vs. Naples United FC (NPSL), 7 p.m. ET
March 25 in Nashville, Tenn.
Nashville United (Tenn.) vs. Cleveland SC (NPSL), 8 pm ET

Central Region
March 24 in Bridgeview, Ill.
Chicago FC United (USLL2) vs. Minneapolis City SC (NPSL), 8 pm ET
March 24 in Tulsa, Okla.
Tulsa Athletic (NPSL) vs. Fort Worth Vaqueros (NPSL), 8 pm ET
March 25 in Lafayetta, La.
Louisiana Krewe FC (La.) vs. Corpus Christi FC (USLL2), 7 pm ET
March 25 in Urbandale, Iowa
Des Moines Menace (USLL2) vs. Med City FC (NPSL), 9 pm ET
March 25 in Denton, Texas
Denton Diablos FC (NPSL) vs. NTX Rayados (Texas), 9 pm ET

West Region
March 24 in La Jolla, Calif.
ASC San Diego (NPSL) vs. Chula Vista FC (Calif.), 9 pm PT
March 24 in Irvine, Calif.
Cal FC (Calif.) vs. Ventura County Fusion (USLL2), 10:30 pm PT
March 25 in Denver, Colo.
FC Boulder Harpos (Colo.) vs. Crossfire Redmond (NPSL), 10 pm PT
March 25 in Whittier, Calif.
FC Golden State Force (USLL2) vs. FC Arizona (NPSL), 10:30 pm PT
March 25 in San Francisco, Calif.
Olympic Club (Calif.) vs. FC Davis (NPSL), 10:30 pm PT

Second Round (April 7-9).
Number of Games: 29
Participants: 58 (19 first-round winners, 25 Division II clubs, 14 Division III teams)

USL Championship (25, excludes teams majority-owned or otherwise controlled by a higher division professional club:
Austin Bold FC, Birmingham Legion FC, Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC, El Paso Locomotive FC, FC Tulsa, Hartford Athletic, Indy Eleven, Las Vegas Lights FC, Louisville City FC, Memphis 901 FC, Miami FC, New Mexico United, North Carolina FC, OKC Energy FC, Orange County SC, Phoenix Rising FC, Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC, Reno 1868 FC, Sacramento Republic FC, Saint Louis FC, San Antonio FC, San Diego Loyal SC, Tampa Bay Rowdies

USL League One (6, excludes teams majority-owned or otherwise controlled by a higher division professional club):
Chattanooga Red Wolves SC, Forward Madison FC, Greenville Triumph SC, Richmond Kickers, South Georgia Tormenta FC, Union Omaha

NISA (8):
California United Strikers FC, Chattanooga FC, Detroit City FC, LA Force, Michigan Stars FC, Oakland Roots, San Diego 1904 FC, Stumptown Athletic

Third Round (April 21-23)
Number of Games: 20
Participants: 40 (29 second-round winners, 11 Division I teams)

MLS (11):
Chicago Fire FC, Colorado Rapids, Columbus Crew SC, FC Cincinnati, FC Dallas, Houston Dynamo, Inter Miami CF, Nashville SC, Orlando City SC, San Jose Earthquakes, Sporting Kansas City.
Note: The four U.S. entrants to the 2020 Concacaf Champions League and the next four best American regular-season finishers in 2019 in each of the league's Eastern and Western Conferences were granted the extra bye.

Round of 32 (May 19-20).
Number of Games: 16
Participants: 32 (20 second-round winners, 12 Division I teams)

MLS (12):
Atlanta United FC (defending champion), D.C. United, Los Angeles FC, LA Galaxy, Minnesota United FC, New England Revolution, New York City FC, New York Red Bulls, Philadelphia Union, Portland Timbers, Real Salt Lake, Seattle Sounders FC.

Remaining Schedule.
June 10 Possible Round of 16
June 23-24 Round of 16 or Quarterfinals
July 14-15 Quarterfinals or Semifinals
Aug. 11-12 Semifinals or Final
Sept. 22-24 Possible Final
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications