Forgot or need to establish your password?
Continue reading this article by signing up for three free articles per month.
By entering your email address, you agree to receive Soccer America Today newsletter and other email messages from Soccer America.
If you're already a Pro member, please sign-in.
Become a Soccer America Pro member today to get complete website access to all articles and all discussions and receive all of Soccer America’s newsletters for just $2.91 for three months.
This premium subscription level includes Soccer America Daily, Soccer on TV, Soccer Talk, the Game Report and Soccer America Confidential. Soccer America Pro members may read, share and comment on all articles from these paid premium newsletters.
I'm really confused why Haiti's goal was disallowed. It appears that #11 slightly touches the ball with her head from a corner kick. The AR raises the flag for offside, yet you cannot be offside after receiving the ball directly from a corner kick. There does not appear to be any contact between #11 or any of her teammates with the USWNT players so a foul should not be whistled either. Very strange!
The only explanation I can think of is that the attacker near the keeper was considered actively involved at the time of the header.
I am mistaken. I watched the above clip and the first attacker is not the one making the header. It was the player that started near the keeper that made the header. During the match it wasn't clear at all from the broadcast. Horrible production choices as to views. When they finally ran a replay it was another too short too tight shot and played so that we missed more live action.
As I explained during the game on Twitter, the AR evidently misinterpreted the Law in regard to interfereing with an opponent by obstructing the opponents's vision or preventing the opponent from playing the ball. These variables only come into play if the attacking player was in an offside position at the moment the ball was played by a teamate. And, as there can be no offside directly from a corner kick; a vaild goal was waived off.I looked at other variables such as did the ball leave the field of play or was it improperly placed outside the corner arc or was there an attcking team foul or handling that led to the goal. None of these are present.Hence, we can only surmise that a serious error in judgement and/or interpretation of the offside Law was made.
Not sure which former USWNT player was the commentator on this, but she nails on a chalk board to me. Also hilarious that a professional player says, "there was no one on the post...offside." There CANNOT be offside on a corner, even if the player scoring is slightly ahead of where the ball is placed.
Always great when the "expert" commentator doesn't know the rules, especially in soccer where there aren't that many rules.