SA Trivia: Which MLS founding clubs have never won MLS Cup?

MLS goes into its 25th season with 26 clubs. Nine were among the original 10 in the inaugural 1996 season. Which three of the nine have never won MLS Cup?

Founding MLS Cup winners
5 LA Galaxy (2002, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2014)
4 D.C. United (1996, 1997, 1999, 2004)
2 San Jose Earthquakes (2001, 2003)
2 Kansas City Wizards/Sporting (2000, 2013)
1 Columbus Crew (2008)
1 Colorado Rapids (2010)

The three who haven't won MSL Cup:
FC Dallas (né Dallas Burn), the New York Red Bulls (nés MetroStars) and New England Revolution have not won the title.

The 10th founding club, the Tampa Bay Mutiny, played in MLS through the 2001 season.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications