Friday morning: What's in the news ...

1. The candidates for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2020 in the Player category include 14 retired players meeting the eligibility criteria for the first time. Hope Solo, considered the greatest goalkeeper in the history of women's soccer, heads the group. Other players in their first year of eligibility include U.S. World Cup veterans Brad Davis, Whitney Engen, Herculez Gomez and Clarence Goodson, former MLS MVPs Mike Magee and Carlos Ruiz; MLS Best XI selections Nat Borchers, Conor Casey, Justin Mapp, Jamison Olave and Robbie Rogers and WPS all-stars Jen Buczkowski and Kelly Smith.

2. A total of 32 players will be participating in the NWSL this season as allocated players: 23 Americans and nine Canadians. Just two players weren't also allocated in 2019: Chicago Red Stars defender Tierna Davidson and Orlando Pride defender Ali Krieger. Three allocated players were not called up to the U.S. national team's SheBelieves Cup training camp: Alex Morgan, who is pregnant, Allie Long and Morgan Brian. McCall Zerboni, traded from the North Carolina Courage to Sky Blue FC in the offseason, is no longer allocated by U.S. Soccer.

3. John Brooks and Sergino Dest were the only Americans to play in the Europa League when the knockout stage kicked off on Thursday. Brooks' Wolfsburg edged Sweden's Malmo, 2-1, while Dest's Ajax fell to Getafe in Spain, 2-0.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications