A big victory for U.S. U-20 women: 4-1 against Mexico wins Concacaf title

This generation of U-20 women, whose first six games were too lop-sided to seem meaningful, notched their first major win on Sunday with a 4-1 victory over Mexico in the Women's Concacaf U-20 Championship. Two years ago, Mexico won the title.

Besides routing minnows en route to the final, the USA also won, 4-0, against Canada, the only other nation that has won a Concacaf Championship and along with Mexico, the only foes the U.S. faced that had ever reached a U-20 World Cup. But by the time they met, Canada had already exposed itself as an unimposing opponent with a 3-1 loss to Jamaica and a scoreless tie with Guatemala.

Two years ago, Mexico beat the USA in the Concacaf U-20 Championship final in a shootout after the game ended 1-1. That U.S. team became the first not to reach the second round of a Women's U-20 World Cup. Mexican women's soccer leveling with the USA, or an aberration?

On Sunday in Santo Domingo, Mexico did take a lead in the sixth minute, but in the 12th minute Trinity Rodman nicely volleyed home a Alexa Spaanstra cross. In the second half, Mia Fishel scored her 12th (after a goalkeeper blooper) and 13th (a header set up by Emily Mason) goals of the tournament, and Rodman notched her eighth. The USA outshot Mexico, 13-5. Both goalkeepers, Julia Dohle and Mexico's Wendy Toledo, made two saves.

In seven games, the USA outscored its opponents 44-1.

USA scorers (7 games)
2020 Concacaf U-20 Women's Championship
13 Mia Fishel (UCLA)
9 Brianna Pinto (Univ. of North Carolina)
8 Trinity Rodman (SoCal Blues SC)
4 own goals
3 Summer Yates (Univ. of Washington)
1 Katelyn Duong (Univ. of Minnesota)
1 Shae Holmes (Univ. of Washington)
1 Rebecca Jarrett (Univ. of Virginia)
1 Samantha Meza (Solar SC)
1 Alexa Spaanstra (Univ. of Virginia)
1 Sierra Enge (Stanford Univ.)
1 Kennedy Wesley (Stanford Univ.)

March 8 in Santo Domingo
USA 4 Mexico 1. Goals: Rodman 12, 88, Fishel 49, 58; Flores 6
USA -- Dohle; Mason, Girma, Wesley, Holmes; Nighswonger, Pinto, Duong (Enge, 81); Rodman (Yates, 89), Fishel, Spaanstra (DellaPeruta, 76).
Mexico -- Toldeo; Soto, Rios (Madrid, 85) Perez, Gonzalez, Vazquez (Juarez, 55), Montoya, R.Reyes, Flores (Manzo, 68), Zempoalteca, M.Reyes.
Referee: Sandra Benitez.

U.S. 2020 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship Roster

Claudia Dickey (Univ. of North Carolina; Charlotte, N.C.; 0/0)
Julia Dohle (Penn State; Scarsdale, N.Y.; 6/0)

Maycee Bell (Univ. of North Carolina; Wichita, Kan.; 4/1)
Sierra Enge (Stanford; Cardiff, Calif.; 0/0)
Naomi Girma (Stanford; San Jose, Calif.; 25/0)
Shae Holmes (Univ. of Washington; Highlands Ranch, Colo.; 2/0)
Brianna Martinez (Notre Dame; Albuquerque, N.M.; 4/0)
Emily Mason (PDA; Flemington, N.J.; 2/0)
Kennedy Wesley (Stanford; Rossmoor, Calif.; 0/0)

Talia DellaPeruta (FC Köln/GER; Cumming, Ga.; 4/0)
Katelyn Duong (Univ. of Minnesota; Portland, Ore.; 3/0)
Jenna Nighswonger (Florida State; Huntington Beach, Calif.; 4/1)
Brianna Pinto (Univ. of North Carolina; Durham, N.C.; 32/4)
Alexa Spaanstra (Univ. of Virginia; Brighton, Mich.; 13/2)
Summer Yates (Univ. of Washington; Pasco, Wash.; 4/2)

Mia Fishel (UCLA; San Diego, Calif.; 0/0)
Rebecca Jarrett (Univ. of Virginia; Clifton, N.J.; 5/0)
Samantha Meza (Solar SC; Dallas, Texas; 7/1)
Trinity Rodman (SoCal Blues SC; Newport Beach, Calif.; 2/1)
Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns; Highlands Ranch, Colo.; 27/23)
U-20 caps/goals in parantheses)

Year U.S. finish (U.S. coach)
2002 Champion (Tracey Leone)
2004 Third place (Mark Krikorian)
2006 Fourth Place (Tim Schulz)
2008 Champion (Tony DiCicco)
2010 Quarterfinals (Jill Ellis)
2012 Champion (Steve Swanson)
2014 Quarterfinals (Michelle French)
2016 Fourth Place (Michelle French)
2018 group stage (Jitka Klimkova)
2020 hosted by Costa Rica and Panama in August (Laura Harvey)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications