NWSL veteran scores winning goal in W-League Grand Final

Steph Catley, who has played six seasons in the NWSL, scored the lone goal to give Melbourne City a 1-0 win over defending champion Sydney FC in the W-League Grand Final and became the first team to lift the Australian women's championship four times.

The win extended Melbourne City's winning streak to 13 games after opening the 2019-20 season with a tie.

In all, 12 NWSL players  -- seven for Melbourne City and five for Sydney FC -- played in the W-League championship game, which was played behind closed doors at AAMI Park in Melbourne. The players collected their medals from a table without shaking hands.

Catley's goal followed an error by Aubrey Bledsoe, the 2019 NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year with the Washington Spirit.

The W-League final came a day before the Australian government recommended a ban on "non- essential" domestic travel and several states announced plans to implement shutdown procedures.

March 21 in Melbourne

Melbourne City 1 Sydney FC 0. Goal: Catley 15.
Melbourne City -- Williams, *Barnes, Checker, Stott, Carpenter, van Egmond (*Watt 63), Luik, Kinga (Mijatovic 67), Catley, Emslie, Simon (*Watt 85).
Sydney FC -- *Bledsoe, Brush, Kennedy, Agnew, Green, Tobin (Sayer 73), Polias, Siemsen (Ibini 63), Ray (Hawkesby 85), *Latsko, *Huerta.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications