New Girls Academy League forms first three divisions

The Girls Academy League, formed by the Development Player League to serve as the league for the top teams of its member clubs in each age group, has announced its first three regional divisions.

Of the 30 clubs in the Northeast, Mid-America and Southwest divisions, 23 are former Girls Development Academy teams. The Girls Academy League will also feature Mid-Atlantic, Southeast and Frontier divisions.

The Development Player League was formed in 2017. It operated three divisions -- Southeast, Frontier and West -- in six age groups -- U-13 to U-17 and U-19 -- in 2019-20. Most of teams in the DPL have been operated by Girls DA clubs.

Twelve former DA clubs have moved teams to the ECNL Girls or ECNL Regional League. (The four Southern California clubs with teams in the ECNL Regional League will also have teams in the Girls Academy League.)

Northeast Conference

*Cedar Stars Academy – Bergen (NJ)
*Long Island SC (NY)
*New York SC (NY)
*Oakwood SC (CT)
*Seacoast United (NH)
*South Shore Select (MA)
*DA clubs in 2019-20.

Beadling SC (PA)
Chicago FC United (IL)
*Cleveland Force (OH)
*Cincinnati United SC (OH)
Indy Premier (IN)
*Michigan Jaguars FC (MI)
*Midwest United FC (MI)
Minnesota Eclipse (MN)
*Nationals (MI)
*Salvo SC (MN)
SC Wave (WI)
*Sockers FC Chicago (IL).
*DA clubs in 2019-20.

Southwest Division:
*Albion SC (CA)
*Albion SC Las Vegas (NV)
*Beach FC (CA)
*Legends FC (CA)
*SC del Sol (AZ)
*Pateadores (CA)
*LA Surf SC (CA)
SC San Diego (CA)
*Utah Royals FC-Arizona (AZ)
West Coast FC (CA)
*DA clubs in 2019-20.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications