Top NCAA Division II conference suspends fall sports

The California Collegiate Athletic Association, the most successful NCAA Division II conference, has suspended sports for the fall 2020 semester.

The move, announced on Tuesday, follows the decision by the California State University system to cancel all in-person classes in the fall and continue instruction online due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

CCAA statement:

"Based on Chancellor White’s May 12th announcement that the vast majority of CSU courses will be virtual for the fall semester of the 2020-21 academic year, and with utmost consideration for the health and welfare of our students, coaches, staff, faculty and communities, CCAA member institutions have determined that NCAA sport competition will not occur during the fall of 2020. The CCAA member institutions will continue to advocate strongly to maintain NCAA championship opportunities for all of our student-athletes, including our fall sports, during the 2020-21 academic year and recommend competition resume when it is safe and appropriate to do so for all of its members. Additional information regarding plans for athletics in fall and spring will be communicated as soon as it becomes available."

The CCAA release mentions that the season was "suspended," not "cancelled," and plans for the athletics in the "fall and spring." One possibility is that the CCAA's fall sports seasons -- men's and women's soccer, men's and women's cross country and women's volleyball -- could be played in the spring.

Twelve CCAA members are all CSU-affiliated schools. A 13th member, UC San Diego, is moving to the NCAA Division I as of the 2020-21 school year.

Four current CCAA members have won NCAA Division II soccer titles: Cal State East Bay (1988 women), Sonoma State (1990 women and 2002 men), Cal State Dominguez Hills (1991 women and 2000 and 2008 men) and UC San Diego (2000-21 women).

CCAA alumni include longtime MLS stars Chris Wondolowski (Chicago State) and Kei Kamara (Cal State Dominguez Hills).

In all, CCAA schools have won 102 men's and 52 women's championships at the NCAA Division II level.

Nine Cal State schools have Division I programs: Cal Poly, CSU Bakersfield, CSU Northridge, Fresno State, Fullerton State, Long Beach State, Sacramento State, San Diego State and San Jose State playing across four conferences (Big Sky, Big West, Mountain West and WAC).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications