Groups are set for MLS is Back Tournament

Groups were drawn for the MLS is Back Tournament, which kicks off July 8 with all 26 teams participating at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Florida.

The 26 teams were placed in six groups -- one group of six and five of four.

Orlando City was placed in the top spot in six-team Group A and joined by Inter Miami before the draw was conducted.

The 2019 MLS semifinalists -- Atlanta United, LAFC, champion Seattle and Toronto FC -- and Real Salt Lake -- the Western Division club with the next highest points in 2019 regular season -- were the other seeded teams in the top position in the other five groups to create three groups of teams from the Eastern Conference and three from the Western Conference.

Among the rivals placed in the same group were Seattle and Vancouver (Group B), Montreal and Toronto FC (Group C), Colorado and Real Salt Lake (Group D), FC Cincinnati and Columbus (Group E) and LAFC and the LA Galaxy (Group F)

Each team will play three games in group play that will extend over 16 days. The top two teams from each group along with the four best third-place finishers will move on to the knockout stage.

Group A
Orlando City
Inter Miami
Nashville SC
Group B
FC Dallas
San Jose

Group C
Toronto FC
New England
D.C. United

Group D
Real Salt Lake
Sporting KC
Minnesota United

Group E
Atlanta United
FC Cincinnati
NY Red Bulls

Group F
LA Galaxy
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications