USL Championship: Groups set for return to play

The USL announced the composition of the eight groups for the USL Championship when it resumes play with a 16-game regular season.

USL Championship: Five things to know about revised format

In order to limit air travel, the 35 teams have been divided into eight regionalized groups, five groups made up of four teams and three groups made up of five teams. Teams will play 12 games from within its own group -- three or four against each team, depending on the size of the group.

USL Championship: Return to play protocols

Bus transportation -- no vans -- is mandatory for any trips of 500 miles or less. Two groups -- Group B (Southern California and Nevada) and Group F (Northeast) will require no air travel for group games. The most isolated team is the defending champion Real Monarchs, based in Utah. All three Group C opponents are located more than 500 miles away.

Western Conference:
Group A

Tacoma Defiance
Timbers II
Reno 1868
Sac Republic FC
Group B
LA Galaxy II
Orange County SC
San Diego Loyal
Phoenix Rising
Las Vegas Lights
Group C
Real Monarchs
Colorado Springs Switchbacks
New Mexico United
El Paso Locomotive
Group D
OKC Energy
FC Tulsa
Austin Bold
San Antonio FC
Rio Grande Valley FC

Eastern Conference:
Group E
Sporting KC II
Saint Louis FC
Indy Eleven
Louisville City
Group F
Loudoun United
Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Philadelphia Union II
NY Red Bulls II
Hartford Athletic
Group G
Memphis 901
Birmingham Legion
Charlotte Independence
North Carolina FC
Group H
Atlanta United II
Charleston Battery
Tampa Bay Rowdies
The Miami FC
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications