NWSL will resume play in September with teams divided into pods

The National Women’s Soccer League will resume play with 18 matches played over seven weeks, beginning in September.

It will operate three pods with three teams playing four games each:

Northeast: Chicago Red Stars, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit.
South: North Carolina Courage, Orlando Pride, Houston Dash.
West: OL Reign, Portland Thorns, Utah Royals.

There will be a Game of the Week on the CBS Television Network every Saturday in September, and on CBS Sports Network for three Saturdays in October. CBS All Access will exclusively stream four games as well as the CBS broadcast coverage in September.

“The women of the NWSL want to compete and we’ve certainly heard from our fans all over the world looking for more action this year," said NWSL commissioner Lisa Baird. "I’d like to thank the NWSL Players' Association for their constant collaboration, as well as CBS for continuing to invest in our league’s growth and this unprecedented opportunity to showcase the NWSL to a world-wide audience, week-in, week-out.”

The announcement comes a month after the NWSL Challenge Cup, which was played entirely in Utah. Since then, 29 NWSL players have moved to Europe, most of loans that will expire before the start of the 2021 NWSL season.

NWSL overseas moves:
Chicago. Emily Boyd (HB Koge/DEN), Makenzy Doniak (HB Koge/DEN), Rachel Hill, (Linkoping/SWE), Cassie Miller (Apollon Ladies/CYP), Kayla Sharples (KP/FIN).
NC Courage. Lindsay Agnew (Orebro/SWE), Hailie Mace (Kristianstad/SWE), Sam Mewis (Manchester City/ENG, transfer)
OL Reign. Lauren Barnes (Kristianstad/SWE), Alana Cook (Paris SG/FRA loan return), Adrienne Jordan (Granadilla Tenerife/ESP, free), Rose Lavelle (Manchester City/ENG, transfer), Nicole Momiki (Linkoping/SWE), Rebecca Quinn (Vittsjo/SWE), Jodie Taylor (Lyon/FRA, transfer).
Orlando. Camila (Palmeiras/BRA), Claire Emslie (Everton/ENG), Alanna Kennedy (Tottenham/ENG), Phoebe McClernon (Vaxjo/SWE), Erin McLeod (Stjarnan/ICE), Jade Moore (Atletico Madrid/ESP), Carson Pickett (Apollon Ladies/CYP), Ali Riley (Rosengard/SWE), Emily Sonnett (Kopparbergs/Goteborg/SWE, short-term transfer), Shelina Zadorsky (Tottenham/ENG).
Sky Blue FC. Elizabeth Eddy (Vittsjo/SWE), Nahomi Kawasumi (INAC Kobe/JPN).
Utah. Gunnhildur Jonsdottir (Valur/ICE).
Note: All players on loan unless otherwise noted.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications