Awards: George Perry receives 2020 Honor Award

George Perry is the 2020 Honor Award recipient, the 81st recipient of the award considered one of the highest honors United Soccer Coaches issues.

In his 30-plus years as a United Soccer Coaches member, Perry has served in numerous capacities within the association, including a term on the executive committee (2010-15) and a year as president (2014).

Perry was a three-time captain at Indiana under legendary Hall of Fame coach Jerry Yeagley and played in the ASL for the Indy Daredevils. He was the head men’s coach at the University of Rochester (1983-89) and St. Bonaventure (1989-94) and later had stints as the head men's coach at Wabash College (2000-05) and Monmouth College (2006-12).

He has also been very active in the youth game in New York West and the Indiana State Youth Association as an ODP coach, AYSO on its national coaching advisory board and currently as the commissioner of the Indiana Soccer League, a position he has held since 2012.

He has worked for United Soccer Coaches as a member of the National Academy Staff since 1984. He has been a Senior Academy Staff instructor since 1989 and also served as the Associate Director of Coaching from 1995-2000.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications