USL League One: Greenville Triumph declared champion after Friday's final canceled

A day before the final, USL League One cancelled the championship game in Greenville, South Carolina, between the Triumph and expansion Union Omaha.

The decision was made after multiple individuals on Union Omaha’s covered persons list tested positive for COVID-19.
Coached by John Harkes, Triumph SC was declared the USL League One champion on the basis of points per game with 2.1875.  It had a six-point margin over second-place Omaha. (All but two teams played 16 games; two teams played 15.)
“While we’re collectively very disappointed that the final could not be played, we’d like to congratulate both clubs on a fantastic 2020 season,” said USL president Jake Edwards. “Union Omaha have been a wonderful addition to our league this season and we cannot wait to witness all of their future success. We also want to congratulate our League One title-winners, Triumph SC, who have been terrific throughout the 16-game regular season and have earned the trophy.”

The USL League One completed its second season with 11 teams. Toronto FC II sat out after the pandemic hit, citing travel restrictions that made it impossible to travel back and forth across Canada. Last-place Orlando City B won't return in 2021.

In May, Edwards said up to five USL League One expansion teams could be announced by the end of the year. On Tuesday, Fort Wayne FC was confirmed as the newest member of the amateur USL League Two with plans to join USL League One in 2023.

In 2019, USL League One featured 10 teams. North Texas SC, operated by FC Dallas, won the league title.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications