USL Championship: Solomon Asante repeats as MVP

The Phoenix Rising’s Solomon Asante became the first player to win back-to-back awards as the USL Championship's Most Valuable Player.

Minnesota United forward Kevin Molino is the only other player who had earned the MVP award twice, in the 2012 and 2014 seasons.

The Ghanaian playmaker scored six goals and again led the USL Championship with nine assists. The Rising won the Western Conference for the second time in three seasons.

It was unable to play in the 2020 USL Championship final against the Tampa Bay Rowdies because the game was called off after multiple Rowdies tested positive for COVID-19.

USL Championship MVP:
2011: Yordany Alvarez, Orlando City
2012: Kevin Molino, Orlando City
2013: Jose Angulo, Pittsburgh Riverhounds
2014: Kevin Molino, Orlando City
2015: Matt Fondy, Louisville City
2016: Sean Okoli, FC Cincinnati
2017: Dane Kelly, Reno 1868
2018: Emmanuel Ledesma, FC Cincinnati
2019: Solomon Asante, Phoenix Rising
2020: Solomon Asante, Phoenix Rising

1 comment about "USL Championship: Solomon Asante repeats as MVP".
  1. R2 Dad, November 7, 2020 at 11:24 p.m.

    MVP in 2019 should have given him a shot at a bigger stage. But no, 29 YO and 5'-2" means no club will take a chance on a natural goal-scorer and leader. Shame.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications