College: Florida State women win ACC title for seventh time in last decade

Florida State won the ACC women's championship for the seventh time in the last decade when it beat North Carolina, 3-2, in Sunday's tournament final.

The Seminoles jumped out to a 2-0 lead on a pair of goals by Clara Robbins in the first six minutes and held off the Tar Heels after LeiLanni Nesbeth, who assisted on both of Robbins' goals, added a third goal in the 47th minute.

Florida State's first five appearances in the ACC final ended with losses to Carolina, but it has beaten the Tar Heels for its last three titles, in 2016, 2018 and 2020.

"The opportunity to come in here, in Carolina and play against UNC again in a final is great for us," said FSU coach Mark Krikorian. "We were all treated to a very hard-working, competitive game between two good teams. Fortunately, we were able to come out and establish a couple of goals early in the game. Then came out in the second half and scored another goal,"

Nov. 14 in Cary, N.C.
Florida State 2 North Carolina 2. Goals: Robbins (McFarland, Nesbeth) 2, Robbins (Nesbeth) 5, Nesbeth (Robbins) 47; Jones pen. 59, Pinto 89.
Florida State -- Roque, Carle, Berkely, Madril, Howell, Pavlisko, Zipay, Robbins, Lynch, Nesbeth, McFarland. Subs: Nighswonger, Iwai, Flynn, Brown, Zhao.
North Carolina -- Dickey, Allen, Dorsey, Fox, Bell, Jones, Cox, Meza, Otto, Pinto, Dellaperuta. Subs: Tolentino, McCabe, Gambone,  Moore, Hansen, Klanke, Pierce, Brown.

2020 ACC Awards:
Offensive Player of the Year: Emina Ekic, Louisville, Sr., M
Defensive Player of the Year: Malia Berkely, Florida State, Sr., D
Midfielder of the Year: Jaelin Howell, Florida State, Jr., M
Freshman of the Year: Lia Godfrey, Virginia, Fr., M
Coach of the Year: Mark Krikorian, Florida State

First Team All-ACC
Sophie Jones, Duke, So., M
Malia Berkely, Florida State, Sr., D
Jaelin Howell, Florida State, Jr., M
Yujie Zhao, Florida State, Jr., M
Emina Ekic, Louisville, Sr., M,
Maycee Bell, North Carolina, So., D
Claudia Dickey, North Carolina, Jr., GK
Emily Fox, North Carolina Sr., D
Rachel Jones, North Carolina, Jr., F
Brianna Pinto, North Carolina, Jr., M
Alexa Spaanstra, Virginia, Jr., F

Second Team All-ACC
Makenna Morris, Clemson, Fr., D
Mariana Speckmaier, Clemson, Sr., F
Emily Madril, Florida State, Jr., D
Clara Robbins, Florida State, Jr., M
Cristina Roque, Florida State, Fr., GK
Taylor Otto, North Carolina, Sr., M
Sammi Fisher, Notre Dame, Sr., M
Amanda West, Pitt, So., F
Lia Godfrey, Virginia, Fr., M
Rebecca Jarrett, Virginia, Jr., F
Diana Ordonez, Virginia, So., F,

Third Team All-ACC
Megan Bornkamp, Clemson, Fr., D
Hal Herschfelt, Clemson, So., M
Courtney Jones, Clemson, Jr., M
Delaney Graham, Duke, Jr., D
Taylor Mitchell, Duke, Sr., D
Jenna Nighswonger, Florida State, So., M
Gabby Kouzelos, Louisville, Sr., GK
Sam Meza, North Carolina, Fr., M
Kiki Van Zanten, Notre Dame, So., F
Emily Gray, Virginia Tech, Jr., M
Hannah Betfort, Wake Forest, Sr., D

All-Freshman Team
Megan Bornkamp, Clemson, D
Makenna Morris, Clemson, D
Jody Brown, Florida State, F
Cristina Roque, Florida State, GK
Kaitlyn Zipay, Florida State, F
Talia Dellaperuta, North Carolina, F
Sam Meza, North Carolina, M
Lia Godfrey, Virginia, M
Samar Guidry, Virginia, D
Tori Powell, Virginia Tech, F
Sophie Faircloth, Wake Forest, D

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications