College: No. 7 seed Vanderbilt wins SEC women's tournament for first time since 1994

Vanderbilt, the No. 7 seed, swept four games to win the SEC women's tournament, its first postseason title since 1994.

The Commodores completed their postseason run with a 3-1 victory over top-seed Arkansas on Sunday in the final played in Orange Beach, Alabama.

They won on goals by Raegan Kelley, Kimya Raietparvar and Abi Brighton to finish with a tournament-record 14 goals in four games.

Vanderbilt also beat No. 10 seed Mississippi State, 4-0, No. 2 Tennessee, 4-2 and No. 3 Texas A&M, 3-1.

"This has been a long four months and to get to this match at this time of year in this particular set of circumstances is an incredible testament to their resilience and toughness," said Vanderbilt coach Darren Ambrose. "I'm proud of how we played all week. We've been the best that I've seen any of my teams play here consistently here for a while and they just put themselves on a mission and executed everything we asked them to do and they thoroughly deserve to be where they are today."

2020 SEC Awards:
First Team All-SEC
Forward: Parker Goins, Arkansas
Forward: Anna Podojil, Arkansas
Forward: Jordyn Rhodes, Kentucky
Forward: Barbara Olivieri, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Abby Boyan, Georgia
Midfielder: Channing Foster, Ole Miss
Midfielder: Jyllissa Harris, South Carolina
Midfielder: Addie McCain, Texas A&M
Defender: Haley VanFossen, Arkansas
Defender: Anna Patten, South Carolina
Defender: Jimena Lopez, Texas A&M
Defender: Karlina Sample, Texas A&M
Goalkeeper: Ashley Orkus, Ole Miss
At Large: Haley Hopkins, Vanderbilt

Co-Coach of the Year
Colby Hale, Arkansas
G Guerrieri, Texas A&M
Forward of the Year
Anna Podojil, Arkansas
Midfielder of the Year
Addie McCain, Texas A&M
Co-Defender of the Year
Jimena Lopez, Texas A&M
Karlina Sample, Texas A&M
Goalkeeper of the Year
Ashley Orkus, Ole Miss
Freshman of the Year
Barbara Olivieri, Texas A&M
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications