USWNT: Megan Rapinoe and Carli Lloyd return for January camp

U.S. national team head coach Vlatko Andonovski has called in 27 players for a training camp in Orlando that will end with two games against Colombia.

Included in the squad are veterans Megan Rapinoe and Carli Lloyd, who did not play for the national team or their NWSL teams after the SheBelieves Cup in March.

Three players return from Europe for the camp: midfield stars Rose Lavelle and Samantha Mewis, who play for Manchester City, and defender Alana Cook, who is at Paris St. Germain in France.

Three collegians were also selected: Emily Fox (North Carolina), Jaelin Howell (Florida State) and Catarina Macario (Stanford), who is awaiting clearance from FIFA to play for the USA.

Alex Morgan, who made her return to the USA for the first time since the 2019 Women’s World Cup final in the 2-0 victory over the Netherlands in November, is unavailable after testing positive for COVID-19.

Two other forwards are unavailable. Unlike Mewis and Lavelle, Tobin Heath will remain in England to play in the FA Women’s Super League for Manchester United. Christen Press, who also plays for Manchester United, has been ill and will remain in England to work on regaining her fitness.

Four other 2019 world champions won't be in Orlando: goalkeeper Adrianna Franch, who has been injured, Morgan Brian, Allie Long and Jessica McDonald. Of the 23 players Andonovski called up for the Netherlands game in Breda, the only player besides Heath, Morgan and Press who won't be in Orlando is Ashley Hatch.

The matches against Colombia will be played Jan. 18 and Jan. 22 at Exploria Stadium, where no more than 4,000 ticketed fans will be allowed to watch.

U.S. Roster:
Aubrey Bledsoe (Washington Spirit)
Jane Campbell (Houston Dash)
Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride)
Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)
Alana Cook (Paris St. Germain/France)
Abby Dahlkemper (NC Courage)
Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars)
Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns)
Emily Fox (Univ. of North Carolina)
Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride)
Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit)
Margaret Purce (Sky Blue FC)
Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns)
Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit)
Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars)
Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns)
Jaelin Howell (Florida State Univ.)
Rose Lavelle (Manchester City/England)
Catarina Macario (Stanford Univ.)
Kristie Mewis (Houston Dash)
Samantha Mewis (Manchester City/England)
Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)
Carli Lloyd (Sky Blue FC)
Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars)
Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign)
Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns)
Lynn Williams (NC Courage)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications