Concacaf Champions League: MLS teams make it 4-for-4

After Atlanta United and the Portland Timbers, the Philadelphia Union and Toronto FC moved into the Concacaf Champions League quarterfinals with second-leg wins on Wednesday.

The Columbus Crew won its first game at Nicaragua's Real Esteli, 5-0, and should give MLS five teams in the quarterfinals for the first time. It had four teams in the final eight in 2016, 2019 and 2020.

The Union scored three goals in the span of seven minutes at the start of the second half to pull away from Costa Rica's Saprissa. Jamiro Monteiro was involved in all four goals in the 4-0 win with two goals and two assists.

The Union won, 1-0, in Costa Rica a week earlier.

April 14 in Chester, Pa.
Philadelphia Union 4 Saprissa 0. Goals: Monteiro pen. 47, Przybylko (Monteiro) 51, Fontana (Monteiro) 54, Monteiro 90.
Philadelphia Union -- Blake; Mbaizo, Glesnes (Collin 89), Elliott, Wagner; Martinez (Findlay 67); Monteiro, Bedoya (Sullivan 75), Flach (McGlynn 67); Przybylko (Sergio Santos 75), Fontana.
Saprissa -- Cruz; Blanco, Evans, Espindola, Cortes, Hernandez; Lester (Jonathan Martinez 66), Guzman (Roper 70), Bolanos (Marin 66); Barrantes, Colindres (Telleria 90)

* * * * * * * * * *

Playing without stars Alejandro Pozuelo and Jozy Altidore, Toronto FC beat Leon, 2-1, to eliminate the Mexican club, 3-2, on aggregate.

Justin Murrow came off the bench to score a rare goal for the Reds, who survived a Leon onslaught in the last 10 minutes after Fernando Navarro reduced their lead to 2-1. Leon also lost by the same aggregate score in the round of 16 in 2020 to LAFC.

The TFC-Leon game was played at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex near Orlando. The Reds will be based in Orlando for the start of the 2021 MLS season. They originally planned to play their CCL home game at Osceola Heritage Park, also in Kissimmee, but Concacaf objected to the set-up.
April 14 in Kissimmee, Fla.
Toronto FC 2 Leon 1. Goals: Mullins 55, Morrow 71; Navarro 80.
Toronto FC -- Bono; Laryea, Gonzalez, Singh, Auro Jr.; Bradley, Priso (Dorsey 76), Delgado, Okello (Morrow 66), Shaffelburg (DeLeon 60); Mullins (Perruzza 60).
Leon -- Cota; Ramirez, Barreiro, Rodríguez (Moreno 46), Tesillo; Colombatto (Sosa 76), Navarro, Meneses; Mena (Godinez 75), Davila (Gigliotti 46), Montes.

Photos: Concacaf/MexSport

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications