College Women: Florida State heads 48-team NCAA Division I field

The NCAA announced the 48-team tournament field -- 29 conference champions and 19 at-large teams -- for the Division I Women's Tournament.

The No. 1 overall seed is Florida State, which won the fall ACC championship with an 11-0-0 record but did not play in the spring. North Carolina, the only team that's played in all 39 tournaments, is the No. 2 seed after finishing the regular season with a 15-1-0 record. Its only loss came in the ACC final to the Seminoles.

Stanford, the 2019 champion, misses the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 1997 and the first time ever under Coach Paul Ratcliffe. The Cardinal finished with a 6-6-2 record.

The ACC, Pac-12 and SEC led all conferences with five bids in the field reduced from 64 to 48 teams.

The tournament will begin April 27 and be played entirely in North Carolina. It will begin in seven cities before the final four rounds will by played entirely at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary. For the first time, the men's and women's finals will be played the same day at the same venue.

And also for the first time, a team will have a minimum of three days between all games. Previously, teams had only two days between games in the second and third round and at the College Cup.

TV. Each of the first four rounds will be available on, while the semifinals will be broadcast live on ESPN2 May 13 and the final will be broadcast live on ESPNU May 17.

First round: April 27-28
Second round: April 30-May 1
Third round: May 5
Quarterfinals: May 9
Semifinals: May 13
Final: May 17

Bracket: NCAA Division I Women

First Round
April 27 in Buies Creek, N.C.

(Big Ten champion) vs. Campbell (Big South champion), 3 pm.
Rutgers (Big Ten at-large) vs. SE Louisiana (Southland champion). 7 pm.
April 27 in Wilmington, N.C.
Mississippi (SEC at-large) vs. Bowling Green (Mid-American champion), 6 pm.
April 27 in
in Wilson, N.C.
New Mexico
(Mountain West champion) vs. Navy (Patriot champion), 6 pm.
April 27 in Greensboro, N.C.
South Florida
(AAC champion) vs. Central Connecticut State (Northeast champion), 3 pm.
Colorado (Pac-12 at-large) vs. South Alabama (Sun Belt fall champion), 7 pm.
April 27 in Mathews, N.C.
(Summit champion) vs. Loyola Chicago (Missouri Valley champion), 3 pm.
Washington (Pac-12 at-large) vs. Liberty (Atlantic Sun champion) 7 pm.
April 28 in Cary, N.C.
Elon (CAA champion) vs. Milwaukee (Horizon champion), 3 pm.
Rice (Conference USA champion) vs. Furman (Southern champion), 3 pm.
Penn State (Big Ten at-large) vs. Alabama State (SWAC champion), 7 pm.
Virginia (ACC at-large) vs. SIUE (Ohio Valley champion), 7 pm.
April 28 in Greenville, N.C.
Arizona State (Pac-12 at-large) vs. Siena (MAAC champion), Noon.
Memphis (AAC at-large) vs. Utah Valley (WAC champion), 4 pm.
Ohio State
(Big Ten at-large) vs. Stony Brook (America East champion), 8 pm.
April 28 in Wilson, N.C.
South Carolina (SEC at-large) vs. Montana (Big-Sky champion), 6 pm.
All times ET.

Second Round
April 30 in Buies Creek, N.C.
No. 3 seed UCLA (Pac-12 champion) vs. Iowa-Campbell winner, 3 pm.
No. 14 seed Clemson (ACC at-large) vs. Rutgers-SE Louisiana winner 7 pm.
April 30 in Wilson, N.C.
No. 4  TCU (Big 12 fall champion) vs. New Mexico-Navy winner, 6 pm.
April 30 in Wilmington, N.C.
No. 8 seed USC
(Pac-12 at-large) vs. Mississippi-Bowling Green winner, 6 pm.
April 30 in Greensboro, N.C.
No. 7 Texas A&M
(SEC at-large) vs. South Florida-Central Connecticut State winner, 3 pm.
No. 2 Oklahoma State (Big 12 at-large) vs. Colorado-South Alabama winner, 7 pm.
April 30 in Mathews, N.C.
No. 2 North Carolina
(ACC at-large) vs. Denver-Loyola Chicago winner, 3 pm.
No. 15 Saint Louis (Atlantic-10 champion) vs. Washington-Liberty winner, 7 pm.
May 1 in Cary, N.C.
No. 1 seed Florida State (ACC fall champion) vs. Elon-Milwaukee winner, 3 pm.
No. 16 seed Vanderbilt
(SEC fall champion) vs. Penn State-Alabama State winner, 7 pm.
No. 5 West Virginia (Big 12 at-large) vs. Rice-Furman winner, 3 pm.
No. 12  BYU (WCC at-large) vs. Virginia-SIUE winner, 7 pm.
May 1 in Greenville, N.C.
No. 9 seed Duke
(ACC at-large) vs. Arizona State-Siena winner, Noon.
No. 6 Arkansas (SEC at-large) vs. Memphis-Utah Valley winner, 4 pm.
No. 11 seed Santa Clara (WCC champion) vs. Ohio State-Stony Brook winner, 8 pm.
May 1 in Wilson, N.C.
No. 13  Georgetown (Big East champion) vs. South Carolina-Montana winner. 6 pm.
All times ET.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications