In Brief: Key elements to new UEFA Champions League

1. Expansion. From 32 to 36 teams in first stage.
2. Four new entrants.
(1) Automatic spot for 3rd team in 5th-ranked country (currently France).
(1) Additional team qualified from Champions Path in preliminary round.
(2) Teams with highest coefficients over 5 years not otherwise qualified.
3. More games. Teams will play 10 games (instead of 6) in first stage.
4. Single table. Teams will be ranked 1-36.
5. Advancement. Teams 1-8 and winners of playoffs involving teams 9-24.
Note: New format, approved on Friday, will go into effect in 2024-25.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications