Gatorade Players of the Year: Alyssa Thompson and Bryce Boneau win national honors

Alyssa Thompson (Harvard-Westlake School in Los Angeles) and Bryce Boneau (Keller High School in Texas) have been named the winners of the 2020-21 Gatorade National Soccer Players of the Year awards.

Thompson, a 5-foot-4 sophomore, scored 48 goals and added 14 assists to lead Harvard-Westlake to an 18-0-0 record and both the Southern Section, Division 1 championship (hat trick in the final) and the SoCal Division I regional championship (two goals in the final). She has made a verbal commitment to play soccer on scholarship at Stanford, beginning in the fall of 2023.

Boneau, a senior midfielder, has 18 goals and 19 assists for Keller High School. He was one of 22 Gatorade state winners who have signed national letters of intent. He will play soccer on scholarship at the University of Notre Dame this fall.

Gatorade National Girls Players of the Year
2021 Alyssa Thompson
2020 Emily Mason
2019 Sophie Jones
2018 Isabella D'Aquila
2017 Kennedy Wesley
2016 Ella Stevens
2015 Mallory Pugh
2014 Katie Cousins
2013 Morgan Andrews
2012 Morgan Andrews
2011 Morgan Brian
2010 Mollie Pathman
2009 Rachel Quon
2008 Teresa Noyola
2007 Melissa Henderson
2006 Lauren Cheney
2005 Amy Rodriguez
2004 Ashlyn Harris
2003 Heather O'Reilly
2002 Jill Oakes
2001 Mary McDowell
2000 Aleisha Cramer-Rose
1999 Christie Welsh
1998 Aly Wagner

Gatorade National Boys Players of the Year
2021 Bryce Boneau
2020 Jony Munoz
2019 Omar Hernandez
2018 Ousseni Bouda
2017 Umar Farouk Osman
2016 Lucas Mendez
2015 Jack Harrison
2014 Abu Danladi
2013 Cristian Roldan
2012 Ema Boateng
2011 Luis Rendon
2010 Soony Saad
2009 Dillon Powers
2008 Chris Agorsor
2007 Brayan Martinez
2006 Eric Alexander
2005 Lee Nguyen
2004 Patrick Phelan
2003 Greg Dalby
2002 Jordan Harvey
2001 Ned Grabavoy
2000 Alecko Eskandarian
1999 Kyle Martino
1998 Nick Downing
1997 Nick Garcia
1996 Andy Kirk
1995 Pierre Venditti
1994 Andriy Shapowal
1993 Mike Fisher
1992 Matt McKeon
1991 Claudio Reyna
1990 Todd Haskins
1989 Chris Henderson
1988 Lyle Yorks
1987 John Gwin
1986 Kevin Hundelt

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications