Santa Clarita Blue Heat wins second United Women's Soccer crown

The Santa Clarita Blue Heat won its second United Women’s Soccer championship with a 5-0 victory over Connecticut Fusion.

The unbeaten Blue Heat took command with two goals by Lena Silano and Angeles Escobar late in the first half. Silano added a second goal to join Olufolasade Adamolekun and Iris Rabot with goals in the second half.

The Blue Heat won the first UWS title in 2016 and finished second in 2017. Its alums include Deyna Castellanos (Atletico Madrid), Ashley Sanchez (Washington Spirit), Natalia Kuikka (Portland Thorns) and Evi Popadinova (Napoli).

CT Fusion 2 Midwest United 1
SC Blue Heat 4 SA Athenians 0

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications