Octagonal: Canada and El Salvador release squads

After Honduras (roster), Canada and El Salvador, the USA's other two opponents in the opening window of World Cup 2022 qualifying, released their rosters.

USA: Roster revealed

The four teams will operate as a pod in September, each one playing the other three teams during the three-game window:

Sept. 2
El Salvador vs. USA
Canada vs. Honduras
Sept. 5
USA vs. Canada
El Salvador vs. Honduras
Sept. 8
Honduras vs. USA
Canada vs. El Salvador

Costa Rica, Jamaica, Mexico and Panama will also play three games among themselves.


Canada's two big stars -- Bayern Munich's Alphonso Davies and French champion Lille's Jonathan David -- are back on its national team roster after missing the Gold Cup.

Davies and David are among four Canadians who will be playing in the UEFA Champions League this fall. Atiba Hutchinson (who also sat out the Gold Cup) and Cyle Larin play for Turkish champion.

Eleven MLS players are in John Herdman's team, including Tajon Buchanan, who was awarded the Gold Cup's Best Youth Player award and will join Belgian champion Club Brugge from the New England Revolution in January.

Of the players who started in the 1-0 loss to the USA in the Gold Cup, only former U.S. U-17 and U-20 Ayo Akinola, who was injured in the game, is not back.

Milan Borjan, Red Star Belgrade (Serbia)
Maxime Crepeau, Vancouver Whitecaps
James Pantemis, CF Montreal

Samuel Adekugbe, Hatayspor (Turkey)
Alphonso Davies, Bayern Munich (Germany)
Doneil Henry, Suwon Samsung Bluewings (South Korea)
Alistair Johnston, Nashville SC
Scott Kennedy, Jahn Regensburg (Germany)
Richie Laryea, Toronto FC
Kamal Miller, CF Montreal
Steven Vitoria, Moreirense (Portugal)

Stephen Eustaquio, Pacos de Ferreira (Portugal)
Liam Fraser, Toronto FC
Atiba Hutchinson, Besiktas (Turkey)
Mark-Anthony Kaye, Colorado Rapids
Jonathan Osorio, Toronto FC
Samuel Piette, CF Montreal
David Wotherspoon, St. Johnstone (Scotland)

Tajon Buchanan, New England Revolution
Lucas Cavallini, Vancouver Whitecaps
Jonathan David, Lille (France)
Junior Hoilett, Reading (England)
Cyle Larin, Beiktas (Turkey)

El Salvador

Hugo Perez retained all six players from the Gold Cup who were born or raised in the United States, including his nephew Joshua Perez, but only 10 of the other 17 players were retained. In all, 10 of the 26 players are new.

Mario Gonzalez, Alianza
Kevin Carabantes, FAS
Yonathan Guardado, 11 Deportivo

Ronald Rodriguez, Aguila
Lizandro Claros, Aguila
Eduardo Vigil, Luis Angel Firpo
Alexander Larin, Comunicaciones (Guatemala)
Miguel Lemus, Chalatenango
Bryan Tamacas, Alianza
Roberto Dominguez, Chalatenango
Eriq Zavaleta, Toronto FC

Alex Roldan, Seattle Sounders
Darwin Ceren, Houston Dynamo
Narciso Orellana, Alianza
Melvin Cartagena, 11 Deportivo
Armando Moreno, New Mexico United
Enrico Duenas, FC Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Harold Osorio, Alianza
Marvin Monterroza, Alianza

Joshua Perez, Ibiza (Spain)
Jairo Henriquez, Chalatenango
Erick Rivera, Santa Tecla
Joaquin Rivas, Tulsa FC
Walmer Martinez, Hartford Athletic
Styven Vasquez, Aguila
Kevin Reyes, FAS

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications