Awards: Walt Chyzowych honors go to ref Esse Baharmast, USA World Cup 1990 team, and Rick Davis

Former referee Esse Baharmast  will be honored with the Walt Chyzowych Lifetime Achievement Award on Jan. 22 at the United Soccer Coaches Convention. Also at ceremony in Kansas City, Walt Chyzowych Distinguished Playing Career Awards will be given  to members of the 1990 U.S. men’s national team, the first to qualify for a World Cup in 40 years, and former USA and New York Cosmos player Rick Davis. The players' award has previously been bestowed on Landon Donovan and Michelle Akers.

Walt Chyzowych Fund Life Time Achievement Award Winners
Jerry Yeagley 1996
Anson Dorrance 1997
Bill Killen 1998
Joe Morrone 1999
Bob Gansler 2000
John McKeon 2001
Mel Lorback 2002
Bruce Arena 2003
Tom Fleck 2004
Joe Machnik 2005
Nick Zlatar 2006
Lothar Osiander 2007
Jay Vidovich 2008
Jay Miller 2009
Walter Bahr 2010
Sigi Schmid 2011
Ralph Perez 2012
Jim Lennox 2013
Gene Chyzowych 2014
George Vizvary 2015
Timo Liekoski 2016
Jay Hoffman 2017
John Kowalski 2018
Al Miller 2019
Lincoln Phillips 2020
Jill Ellis 2020
Bob Bradley 2021
Esse Baharmast 2022

Baharmast served as a U.S. Soccer, MISL, MLS and FIFA referee, and as FIFA and U.S. referee instructor. He officiated at the 1996 and 1998 Gold Cup, 1996 Olympic Games, 1997 Copa America and 1998 World Cup. Baharmast reffed the inaugural MLS game in 1996 and the first MLS Cup.

“I am honored and humbled to receive this recognition that is bestowed on the legends of our game and is named in honor of a dear friend and a great mentor of mine," Baharmast said. "I was fortunate to get to know Walter during his time as Director of Referees for the Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL) in the early days of my officiating career. I was a Player and a Coach before I became a referee and working under Walter’s guidance was instrumental in the philosophy I developed as a Referee in the highest levels of competition. I am forever grateful for that experience.”

Baharmast, currently the Director of Referees for the Colorado Soccer Association (CSA), previously received U.S. Soccer’s Werner Fricker Builder Award for his contributions to soccer in America.

1 comment about "Awards: Walt Chyzowych honors go to ref Esse Baharmast, USA World Cup 1990 team, and Rick Davis".
  1. Peter Hattrup, November 27, 2021 at 1:21 p.m.

    Esse has always been a class act! Rick helped carry the torch during a tough time and the 1990 award should include all those who played in qualifying!

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications