College: Florida State names Tennessee's Brian Pensky as its women's head coach

Florida State has hired Tennessee head women's coach Brian Pensky as its new women’s  head coach, replacing Mark Krikorian, who stepped down recently after leading the Seminoles to their third national title in 2021.

Pensky was named the 2021 SEC Coach of the Year after he led the Volunteers to the SEC championship. His move comes a month after he was given a contract extension through the 2026 season.

“Florida State’s soccer program is regarded as one of if not the best in the country and rightfully so,” said Pensky.  “The opportunity to be a part of this great program with the remarkable tradition is an honor.  What Mark did here over the last 17 years is unparalleled in our game.  Simply put, he has been the best in the business.”

Pensky, who spent 10 seasons in Knoxville, guided the 2018 Volunteers to the NCAA quarterfinals for the first time in program history. He was previously the head women’s coach at Maryland for seven seasons.

NCAA Division I women's head coaching moves
1. Air Force. Larry Friend --> Laura Busby (LSU assistant coach).
2. UAlbany. Leigh Howard --> Sade Ayinde (Yale assistant coach).
3. Appalachian State. Sarah Strickland --> Aimee Haywood (Queens coach).
4. Austin Peay. Naomi Kolarova --> Kim McGowan (Miami, Ohio associate coach).
5. Baylor. Paul Jobson --> Michelle Lenard (Dallas Baptist head coach).
6. Bellarmine. Chris Tinius --> Paul Babba (Kentucky assistant coach).
7. Campbell. Samar Azem --> Jeff Gross (UNC Greensboro associate coach).
8. Chicago State. Cristiano Costa --> Mario Felix (Southern Utah associate coach).
9. Colorado College. Geoff Bennett --> Keri Sanchez (Illinois Wesleyan head coach).
10. East Carolina. Jason Hamilton --> Gary Higgins (Lenoir-Rhyne head coach).
11. *Florida State. Mark Krikorian --> Brian Pensky (Tennessee head coach)
12. Fordham. Jessica Clinton --> Magnus Nilerud (Bridgeport head coach).
13. Georgia. Billy Lesesne --> Keidane McAlpine (USC head coach).
14. Houston. Diego Bocanegra --> Jaime Frias (Virginia assistant coach).
15. Idaho State. Debs Brereton --> Dustin Downey (Chicago FC United coach).
16. Kentucky. Ian Curry --> Troy Fabiano (Milwaukee head coach).
17. Lamar. Steve Holeman --> Nathan Kogut (Texas A&M assistant)
18. Lehigh. Eric Lambinus --> Lauren Calabrese (Lehigh assistant coach)
19. LIU. Collin Audley --> Lucy Gillett (LIU assistant)
20. Louisiana. Lance Key --> Chris McBride (Southeastern Louisiana head coach).
21. Loyola Marymount. Jenny Bindon --> Chris Chamides (Cal State LA men's coach).
22. Maryland. Ray Leone --> Meghan Ryan Nemzer (Rutgers associate coach).
23. Missouri State. Rob Brewer --> Kirk Nelson (Missouri State associate coach).
24. Mount St. Mary's. Tori Krause --> Melissa Sherwood (Northwestern State associate coach).
25. Morehead State. Warren Lipka --> Chris Fox (High Point associate coach).
26. Northern Illinois. Julie Colhoff --> Michael O'Neill (Saginaw Valley State head coach).
27. Oral Roberts. Roger Bush --> Austin Risenhoover (California associate coach).
28. San Jose State. Lauren Hanson --> Tina Estrada (San Jose State associate coach)
29. *SMU. Chris Petrucelli --> Nicole Nelson (SMU assistant coach).
30. Southeastern Louisiana. Chris McBride --> Nathan Gillespie (Southeastern Louisiana assistant)
31. St. Francis (Pa.). Ellie Davis --> Sara Yunez (St. Bonaventure assistant coach).
32. Texas State. Kat Conner --> Steve Holeman (Lamar head coach).
33. Troy. Nicole Waters (interim)-->  Robert Lane (Georgia assistant coach).
34. *UCLA. Amanda Cromwell --> Margueritte Aozasa (Stanford assistant).
35. *USC. Keidane McAlpine --> Jane Alukonis (UCLA assistant coach)
36. USC Upstate. Tyson John --> Sharif Saber (Mt. Olive head coach).
37. UTRGV. Glad Bugariu --> Mark Foster (Arkansas Little Rock head coach)
38. Villanova. Chris McLain --> Samar Azem (Campbell head coach).
39. Western Illinois. Eric Johnson --> Josée Primeau (Western Illinois associate coach)
40. *Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Troy Fabiano --> Kevin Boyd.
Note: Interim coaches filled vacancies at Louisiana Tech (Steve Voltz), Pacific (Danesha Adams and JJ Wozniak), Tulsa (Jim Rhein) and Wisconsin-Green Bay (Julie Grutzner).
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications