NWSL: Playoff field set

The Chicago Red Stars completed the NWSL playoff field when they clinched the final berth with a 2-0 win over Angel City FC on Sunday.

OL Reign tied the North Carolina Courage in winning a third NWSL Shield as regular-season champion.

Three of the six teams in the playoffs are newcomers: first-year San Diego, second-year Kansas City and Houston, which advanced for the first time eight years after entering the league.

The playoffs will begin following the October international break.

• Alex Morgan won the NWSL Golden Boot as the league’s top scorer in the regular season for the first time with 15 goals in 17 games, a career high since joining the league in 2013.  She edged USWNT teammate Sophia Smith, who scored 14 goals for Portland.

Sunday, October 2
Chicago 2 Angel City FC 0. (Goals: Pugh 45+4, Nagasato 77. Att.:  8,347.)
Final Standings
Top 6:
*OL Reign 40 points; 2. *Portland 39; 3. *San Diego 36 (32-21); 4. *Houston 36 (35-27); 5. *KC Current 36 (29-29); 6. *Chicago 33.
Bottom 6: 7. ^NC Courage 32; 8. ^Angel City 29; 9. ^Racing Louisville 23; 10. ^Orlando 22; 11. ^Washington 19; 12. ^Gotham FC 13.
*Clinched playoff berth. ^Eliminated from playoffs.
Playoff Schedule
Sunday, October 16
Houston vs. KC Current, 5 pm. ET (Paramount+)
San Diego  vs. Chicago, 10 pm. ET (CBS Sports Network)
Sunday, October 23
Portland vs. San Diego-Chicago winner 5 pm. (CBS Sports Network)
OL Reign vs. Houston-Kansas City winner, 7:30 p.m. ET (CBS Sports Network)
Saturday, October 29
8 p.m. ET.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications