Men's MAC Hermann Trophy finalists: From Syracuse, Creighton and Duke

The finalists for the 2022 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy hail from Syracuse, Creighton and Duke.

Levonte Johnson
(Syracuse, senior)

The forward seeks to become the first Syracuse player to win the MAC Hermann Trophy. Johnson spent his first two years playing at the junior college level at Eastern Florida State College and then Salt Lake Community College. In his junior year, he led Seattle University in goals (9) and assists (8). After his pathway to MLS club Charlotte FC fell through, Johnson transferred to Syracuse for his senior year of collegiate soccer. The Brampton, Ontario, native played a significant role in the Orange’s 2022 season during which it won the program’s first ever men's soccer national championship. He finished the season with 11 goals and a career-high six assists. Johnson’s eight game-winning goals were the most in the nation and many of them came in big moments, such as to break a 2-2 tie against Crieghton in the 86th minute of semifinal game. The Vancouver Whitecaps selected him with the 29th pick in the 2023 MLS SuperDraft.

Duncan McGuire
(Creighton, junior)

The forward's 23 goals scored were the most in Division 1 men’s soccer this season and broke Creighton’s record for goals in a season. McGuire scored three goals in his team’s season opener and from Oct. 19 to Nov. 13 scored at least one goal in seven straight games. In the postseason, the Blue Jay striker really shone as he scored 10 goals and provided two assists. He had a four-goal game in a Big East Championship tournament semifinal game and then kept scoring as his team won the tournament and reached their sixth NCAA final four. The Omaha, Nebraska native played for the Elkhorn Soccer Club and at Creighton Prep High School. McGuire hopes to become the second Creighton to win the Hermann Trophy after current Creighton coach Johnny Torres (1997). Orlando City SC selected McGuire with the sixth overall pick in the MLS Superdraft.

Peter Stroud
(Duke, junior)

The only men’s finalist who was on the preseason watch list, Stroud is the Blue Devils’ first men’s finalist since award winner Andrew Wenger in 2011. Out of Chester, New Jersey, Stroud played in the youth academies of the MLS team New York Red Bulls and English Premier League team West Ham United. Stroud played almost every minute in the center of Duke’s midfield this season, scoring two goals and dishing out a career high five assists. He helped Duke men’s soccer complete their first undefeated regular season since 1999 and advance to the NCAA quarterfinal round for the first time since 2006.

The 2022 trophy ceremony will be held on Jan 6, 2023, at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

* * * * * * * * * *

2002 -- Alecko Eskandarian (Virginia)
2003 -- Chris Wingert (St. John's)
2004 -- Danny O'Rourke (Indiana)
2005 -- Jason Garey (Maryland)
2006 -- Joseph Lapira (Notre Dame)
2007 -- O'Brian White (UConn)
2008 -- Marcus Tracy (Wake Forest)
2009 -- Teal Bunbury (Akron)
2010 -- Darlington Nagbe (Akron)
2011 -- Andrew Wenger (Duke)
2012 -- Patrick Mullins (Maryland)
2013 -- Patrick Mullins (Maryland)
2014 -- Leo Stolz (UCLA)
2015 -- Jordan Morris (Stanford)
2016 -- Ian Harkes (Wake Forest)
2017 -- Jon Bakero (Wake Forest)
2018 -- Andrew Gutman (Indiana)
2019 -- Robbie Robinson (Clemson)
2020 -- Gloire Amanda (Oregon State)
2021 -- Dante Polvara (Georgetown)

1967 -- Dov Markus (Long Island Univ.)
1968 -- Manuel Hernandez (San Jose State)
1969 -- Al Trost (Saint Louis)
1970 -- Al Trost (Saint Louis)
1971 -- Mike Seerey (Saint Louis)
1972 -- Mike Seerey (Saint Louis)
1973 -- Dan Counce (Saint Louis)
1974 -- Farrukh Quraishi (Oneonta State)
1975 -- Steve Ralbovsky (Brown)
1976 -- Glenn Myernick (Hartwick)
1977 -- Billy Gazonas (Hartwick)
1978 -- Angelo DiBernardo (Indiana)
1979 -- Jim Stamatis (Penn State)
1980 -- Joe Morrone (Connecticut)
1981 -- Armando Betancourt (Indiana)
1982 -- Joe Ulrich (Duke)
1983 -- Mike Jeffries (Duke)
1984 -- Amr Aly (Columbia)
1985 -- Tom Kain (Duke)
1986 -- John Kerr (Duke)
1987 -- Bruce Murray (Clemson)
1988 -- Ken Snow (Indiana)
1989 -- Tony Meola (Virginia)
1990 -- Ken Snow (Indiana)
1991 -- Alexi Lalas (Rutgers)
1992 -- Brad Friedel (UCLA)
1993 -- Claudio Reyna (Virginia)
1994 -- Brian Maisonneuve (Indiana)
1995 -- Mike Fisher (Virginia)
1996 -- Mike Fisher (Virginia)
1997 -- Johnny Torres (Creighton)
1998 -- Wojtek Krakowiak (Clemson)
1999 -- Ali Curtis (Duke)
2000 -- Chris Gbandi (Connecticut)
2001 -- Luchi Gonzalez (Southern Methodist)

1986 -- John Kerr (Duke)
1987 -- John Harkes (Virginia)
1988 -- Ken Snow (Indiana)
1989 -- Tony Meola (Virginia)
1990 -- Ken Snow (Indiana)
1991 -- Alexi Lalas (Rutgers)
1992 -- Claudio Reyna (Virginia)
1993 -- Claudio Reyna (Virginia)
1994 -- Todd Yeagley (Indiana)
1995 -- Matt McKeon (Saint Louis)
1996 -- Mike Fisher (Virginia)
1997 -- Johnny Torres (Creighton)
1998 -- Jay Heaps (Duke)
1999 -- Sasha Victorine (UCLA)
2000 -- Ali Curtis (Duke)
2001 -- Luchi Gonzalez (Southern Methodist)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications