Concacaf club championship gets new (old) name

Concacaf has re-named its annual men’s club tournament: the Concacaf Champions Cup (from Concacaf Champions League used in 2008-2023 back to its original name used in 1962-2008).

The 2024 edition will be expanded from 16 to 27 teams in the knockout phase and add an additional round.

A new Concacaf Caribbean Cup will crown a Caribbean champion, a new Concacaf Central American Cup will crown a Central American champion, and the expanded Leagues Cup between MLS and Liga MX teams will launch this summer. 

The winners of the three regional cups will qualify directly to the round of 16 along with the MLS and Liga MX champions. 

The other 22 entrants entering in the first round will include teams representing:

5 Liga MX
1 U.S. Open Cup
2 Leagues Cup
2 Canadian Premier League
1 Canadian Championship
5 Central American Cup
2 Caribbean Cup

At stake will be more than $5 million to the Concacaf Champions Cup champion plus an increase in financial distributions and prize money for other participating.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications