U.S. U-17 MYNT headed to Czech Republic

The U.S. under-17 men's national team will get its first international competition since it finished second at the Concacaf U-17 Championship in February when it heads to the Vaclav Jezek Cup in the Czech Republic.

The USA has frequently played in the U-18 competition. What is unique is that it will sending the U-17s for the tournament's 29th edition.

Thirteen players return from the USA’s U-17 World Cup qualifying campaign earlier this year are returning for the tournament. The most notable absence is that of top scorer Keyrol Figueroa, who scored seven goals in the Concacaf championship. The Liverpool forward is injured.

Two players will be playing with the U-17s for the first time: goalkeeper Zack Campagnolo, who has left the Orlando City academy to join the Colorado Rapids academy, and LAFC academy attacking midfielder Matthew Evans, who began the U-17 cycle with Guatemala but could not play with the Concacaf U-17 Championship host earlier in the year because he was ill.

Adam Beaudry, the other U-17 goalkeeper, is also in the Colorado Rapids academy. Diego Kochen has been expected to be the U-17s' starting keeper but he has been promoted to the Barcelona first team.

The U-17 squad includes 16 players born in 2006, three in 2007 and one in 2008: Charlotte FC's Burundi-born forward Nimfasha Berchimas.

The 2023 U-17 World Cup will be played Nov. 10-Dec. 2 in Indonesia.

U.S. U-17 Roster:
Goalkeepers (2): Adam Beaudry (Colorado Rapids academy), Zackory Campagnolo (Colorado Rapids academy).
Defenders (6): Noahkai Banks (Augsburg U19/GER), Tyler Hall (Inter Miami FC II), Aiden Harangi (Eintracht Frankfurt U19/GER), Stuart Hawkins (Tacoma Defiance), Peyton Miller (New England Revolution), Oscar Verhoeven (San Jose Earthquakes).
Midfielders (6): Matthew Evans (LAFC academy), Taha Habroune (Columbus Crew 2), Cruz Medina (San Jose Earthquakes), Edwyn Mendoza (San Jose Earthquakes II), Paulo Rudisill (LA Galaxy academy), Pedro Soma (UE Cornella/ESP).
Forwards (6): Nimfasha Berchimas (Charlotte FC), Micah Burton (Austin FC academy), Brian Romero (Charlotte FC), Bryce Jamison (Orange County SC), Ruben Ramos Jr. (LA Galaxy academy), David Vasquez (Philadelphia Union academy).
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications