Soccer America Daily
Wednesday, June 9, 2021
  • USMNT: Gregg Berhalter on Musah, Pulisic, Dest, Adams, Reyna and McKenzie

    Ahead of USA-Costa Rica, much of the talk has been about the Concacaf Nations League final and the play of the young U.S. players. Read the whole story

  • What They're Saying: Gregg Berhalter

    "It is absolutely disgusting. It has no place in sport. You take enough criticism about performance and guys having off games and saying you're not a good player. To bring something like race into it is absolutely disgusting and out of bounds."

    -- U.S. national team coach Gregg Berhalter on defender Mark McKenzie, who said he and members of his family were the online target of racist abuse by "supporters" after the USA's 3-2 overtime win over Mexico in the Concacaf Nations League final. McKenzie, who is Black, turned the ball over on a play that led to Mexico's opening goal in the second minute. Berhalter said he wished there was a way that people who "get bold" on social media and "do things that they normally wouldn't do in life" could be held more accountable.

  • TV: USA-Mexico was last week's No. 1 program in key demographics

    The match averaged 4.2 million viewers overall, the most for a soccer match since the 2019 Gold Cup final between the USA and Mexico. Read the whole story

  • Last 10: USA vs. Mexico (Univision/UniMas viewers)

    1. Sept. 2013 (World Cup qualifying). 3.5 million (UniMas)
    2. April 2014 (friendly). 3.9 million (UniMas)
    3. April 2015 (friendly). 3.6 million (UniMas)
    4. Oct. 2015 (Concacaf Cup). 5.1 million (Univision)
    5. Nov. 2016 (World Cup qualifying). 4.6 million (Univision)
    6. June 2017 (World Cup qualifying). 4.5 million (Univision)
    7. Sept. 2018 (friendly). 2.3 million (UniMas)
    8. July 2019 (Gold Cup final). 5.7 million (Univision)
    9. Sept. 2019 (friendly). 2.7 million (Univision)
    10. June 2021 (Concacaf Nations League final). 4.2 million (Univision)

  • NWSL expansion: What we know about San Diego 2022

    Ron Burkle, the majority owner of the erstwhile MLS expansion team in Sacramento, is the owner. Jill Ellis will be the San Diego president. Read the whole story

  • W League: Inaugural members

    1. Chattanooga Red Wolves. Also USL League One inaugural member.
    2. Greenville Triumph. Already operates girls academy.
    3. Hartford Athletic. Lone current USL Championship team in mix.
    4. Minnesota Women’s Soccer. Ownership will be revealed at Sunday event.
    5. Kaw Valley FC. Men's team has played in USL League Two since 2018.
    6. Queensboro FC.  Aly Wagner as an investor and strategic advisor.
    7. South Georgia Tormenta. New permanent stadium will open in 2022.
    8. Washington D.C. D.C. United’s ownership group will lead team.
    Note: W League's goal is to have at least 30 teams in inaugural season in 2022.

  • Concacaf: Field set for second round of World Cup 2022 qualifying

    It looks more and more likely that the USA will open up its qualifying campaign at El Salvador, coached by Hugo Perez. Read the whole story

  • World Cup 2022 Qualifying: Brazil remains perfect

    Second-place Argentina blew a 2-0 lead after eight minutes at Colombia and gave up a tying goal in stoppage time. Read the whole story

  • Watch: Antoine Griezmann's bicycle kick goal against Bulgaria

    Les Bleus' 3-0 European Championship warmup win over Bulgaria featured this opening goal by Antoine Griezmann. Read the whole story

  • Wednesday morning: What we're reading (and listening to)

    1. Columbia (N.J.) High School student fatally shot near soccer field where he excelled By Ed Shanahan and Kevin Armstrong (New York Times)
    2. He left Brazil for Boston's soccer fields - and to find a new life. Now, wearing the U.S. jersey means the world to him By Frank Dell'Apa (Boston Globe)
    3. Concacaf's choices for the Nations League and the Gold Cup By J Hutcherson (US Soccer Players)

  • Caleb Porter on how MLS challenges coaches like no other league in the world

    Only three head coaches have won MLS Cup championships with different clubs, and the first two -- Sigi Schmid and Bruce Arena -- are … Read the whole story